You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Decade in Video Games, as told by Borderlands 3

in #gaming5 years ago

wow, that's like a university professor explanation of gaming :)

I was starting to fall out with gaming because it seemed as though everything was a FPS game for about 10 years but am happy to see a comeback of platformers with excellent "figure it out yourself" storylines (Such as INSIDE and Limbo) and even 3-D games (like Edith Finch, as you mentioned) coming to the forefront.

There's something out there for everyone and a lot of my friends were excited for BL3, i just am not one of those people unfortunately.

Sort:  

Well, I sometimes claim to be a professional. I'm not sure it's entirely truthful, because I only make my money as a game designer in the sense that I'm a full-time student for the next year and a half or so, and I'm going to probably wind up back at a normal day job once I finish my master's.

INSIDE is a game that I've found kind of interesting. It's very dark, and I haven't gotten all the way through it (the underwater section in the submarine just about did me in), but it's one of those triumphs of indies getting more and more capable of creating experiences that are really equivalent to what you might see in a film or novel with a relatively small team (I think Playdead's like 10 people?).

I'm not going to recommend BL3 to everyone. It's Borderlands+. If you loved any of the previous Borderlands games, or even just liked them, it's probably a good game for you. If you really like shooters or ARPGs, it's probably a good game for you. Is it the Mona Lisa of gaming? No. It's a game that is competent, capable, and entirely happy to stay in its niche.

you haven't finished INSIDE? oh man, you gotta. Because the ending, although it is an ending, is something so strangely wonderful that i spent half an hour afterwards looking at videos delving into the story of the game. Since nary a word is spoken throughout the game, it is kind of up to you how to interpret it.

oh, you gotta finish that game. It's one of the best storylines in gaming ever.

I should really go back and finish it off. I've been kind of putting it off thanks to a couple new releases and just having more work and school time demands, but now that I'm mostly done with Borderlands 3 it seems like this is as good a time as any.

the best thing about that game is that you CAN do something like walk away for a while and still be able to play it straight away. This is because there are only 2 buttons used.

I walked away from Witcher: Wild Hunt for 2 days and when i got back in i was running into fences and getting killed by packs of wild dogs 7 levels lower than me as i wildly swung my sword in various direction and forgot how to parry.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57940.42
ETH 2359.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36