An Interview with @TheCastle, Creator of the Steam Game "Revulsion" - Aka, Absolute MADNESS

in #gaming6 years ago

So I recently played Revulsion for the first time - a game that was created by one of @GamersUnited's very own members, @TheCastle. He was kind enough to shoot me a game key to play it through and see what I thought of it - so I streamed a session.

Revulsion Interview with Castle.png

I'll have to admit, at first, I was extremely hesitant, as I normally don't try out new games and last long with them - I planned on only doing roughly a 1-hr stream, however, after getting into it...it quickly became nearly 3 hours LOL.

@TheCastle spent the majority of the time watching the stream and chatting with me as I went through his "troll-fest" of a game (thanks for all the crazy random shit happening non-stop, and AGGRO for days)!

So, I decided to interview him after the fact. He responded to my questions with a YouTube video, which I'll embed in this post - but I've also transcribed a portion of the interview for a simple Q&A style post here.

Hope you enjoy it!

Inspiration & more

@GetSlothyy - So, @Castle - what inspired you to create Revulsion? I just finished playing it for the first time and it's like nothing I've ever played before - I feel like there is a multitude of games you drew some inspiration from for this FPS. It's also incredibly difficult right from the get-go, even in normal mode - it throws you right into the action and you're forced to either adapt quickly or die....repeatedly :P

@TheCastle - The "adapt quickly or die repeatedly" system stems from Dark Souls directly. Dark Souls seems to have had a direct influence on Revulsion - even though things are changed around a bit. Over time and with many changes, it's become its own beast, but it still has a "Dark Souls" feel to it. The current iteration of the game is potentially a "new genre" - I originally imagined this as an "Arena Shooter", however now it's much more of an FPS with RPG elements. I've implemented a "compulsion loop" to Revulsion - i.e., the carrot on a stick gameplay style. While many may argue about the ethics of such a tactic, this is simply the state of modern game design - it's a science. How can we keep players engaged and active? Thus, the elements of Revulsion.

How long has it been?

@GetSlothyy - How long did it take you to create the game? When did you first release it, and was it a challenge to get listed on the Steam platform?

@TheCastle - I'm actually pretty impressed - while the game isn't technically "done" yet, I'm about 8 months in on Revulsion. I am playing with innovation here and truly enjoying it - toying around with this has been a lot of fun. About 3 months or so and Revulsion will be out of "early access" mode.

A change of heart for Slothyy

@GetSlothyy - After playing Revulsion, it's completely changed my perception about trying new games. I usually get stuck in a game or two for months/years on end - but I now want to suddenly try loads of other games. Did you ever think that Revulsion would have this sort of impact on others, especially as an Indie developer (vs the normal "Mainstream" gaming audience)?

@TheCastle - Any time someone makes a new game, they're making the argument that you should try their new game, haha. I'm sort of agnostic in that I'm not making an argument that you should try new games as a whole, you should just try my game :P Me me me, haha. Vanity aside, I'm hoping the only effect that I have on others is that you should try my game. I dunno xD

Why the name, "Revulsion"?

@GetSlothyy - Why did you choose to name the game "Revulsion"? Is there a backstory or specific reason?

@TheCastle - Yes, you're in the "Mirror Animus" - I could go more into detail, but it's probably best I just shut up ;) There will be tons of hints and such throughout the game, but within a few months there will be an actual storyline that will unfold and reveal itself to those that are truly searching for it.

Tell us more...

@GetSlothyy - I see that you're working on Revulsion nonstop - releasing updates, posts on Steemit informing your fans/customers about upcoming changes and possible ideas, etc. Is Revulsion a passion project for you, or do you see it becoming something much larger and long-term? Will there be updates/expansions available in the future, or dramatic changes to the game itself? Perhaps a Revulsion 2?

@TheCastle - Well, it's both a passion project and a potential source of income. I'm not sure how much larger Revulsion may go, but from the perspective of a passion project, the game as a whole is a very big deal, in my opinion, in that "I can do this". That to me is huge, and rare, in the grand scheme of things. I've done something that many others may never do - perhaps even the "impossible", once I'm able to get this out of early access. I've crafted an FPS with RPG elements, 70+ weapons, 14+ maps - more than a team of 10-20+ people would normally do in this sort of time frame. I've scratched and clawed every single bit of this by myself, mostly.

As for changes/dramatic additions, might be bringing in a co-op mode so you could play with others/friends. Otherwise, you're pretty much playing what will be.

IF I do a Revulsion 2, I'd probably head towards an open-world style, maintaining RPG elements, etc - and allowing for various other options (Huge fan of "7 Days to Die"), so there could possibly be elements of that in a potential Revulsion 2. Be on the lookout!

Where do I get Revulsion?

@GetSlothyy - Where can people get their own copy of Revulsion, and how much is it?

@TheCastle - It's on Steam early access right now, for $14.99 (definitely grab it!) - and, if given the opportunity, I may release the game on the EOS platform, as well as Steemit.

Final Thoughts?

@GetSlothyy - Any final thoughts that you'd like to air out? Perhaps plans for the future (are you planning on releasing another game one day, etc)?

@TheCastle - I think that pretty much covers it. I'll be working on Revulsion for a while, so - if there are others working on similarly styled games, I'll probably be seeking such designers/devs out and potentially collaborate on something even bigger in the future. Whatever happens will be an ass-kicking :D

Fin'

@TheCastle - I'm here to kick some ass and take some names. Revulsion appears to be simplistic due to the graphics, however, ERASE THAT from your head instantly, as there is a LOT going on in this game. It's an art-style, and I will probably be making more games that use this exact style in and of itself.

If Revulsion is not successful, I'll probably end up working inevitably on something in this scene - it's what I want to do, and it's the direction I want things to go.

Hope you enjoyed the interview, and I guess I'll probably do more in the future! Take it easy ;)

@GetSlothyy - Thank you so much for your time, @TheCastle! It's truly been a pleasure and I'll DEFINITELY be playing Revulsion again - and streaming it, of course, xD

FULL INTERVIEW ON YOUTUBE:

FOLLOW @THECASTLE ON STEEMIT!



@GamersUnited is a brand new SteemIt curation group for everything gaming! Join our Discord channel and use #GamersUnited in your posts for a chance to be featured in our daily digest/curation posts!

Already a member, or simply want to help us grow so we can reward our members even more?
Please consider delegating SP to our cause:
25SP,50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP
Want to delegate more? Contact @GetSlothyy if you have or need help!

Sort:  

Love to keep up with what @thecastle is doing with the game. It looks like a mix of Dark Souls, Doom and Minecraft to me... Which is not bad at all because I love those three games in general terms. But what Castle's done here I'd even risk to say is unique and original because I haven't seen anything like this over here.

The sound design is amazing too.

I love what Castle is doing and would definitely pick a copy up without thinking twice.

Dude, this game is right up your alley. It took me hella by surprise after playing it. Seriously worth giving a look at, for anyone. Can't wait to write my actual personal review of it.

Whenever I get a hold of the new pc that's on the way, i'll definitely pick it up!

This game just to see it has left me amazed, great interview friend.

Give it a try - I think you'll fall in love!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by slothyy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

@thecastle your game looks awesome man, Really nice work.
@getslothyy lucky bugger, sounds like it was an interesting game to play...

@Philippekiene oh I'm very lucky indeed! I'm actually going to stream again later methinks - I made it to I think lvl 5? I'm excited - I'd definitely say give it a try when you have a few sbd to spare!

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/nAUkxws. Good Game, Well Played!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00