You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: More Open World Games. Yay or Nay?

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

I'd like less open world games, mostly because games that do not need to be open world are using them to their detriment (Nier Automata immediately comes to mind and I'll be mentioning this in my upcoming review).

While open world games can be done excellently like Witcher 3 or GTA, I find that far too many of them have aimless fluff and do not capitalize on the fact they are open world. Instead they fill the world with chores (and I call them chores because that's what they feel like) instead of interesting things to do and see and they become really boring and repetitive as a result. Good examples of that are the Assassin's Creed games.

I'd like to see more games with focus over more open world games because far too many developers don't actually know how to properly make one and sometimes I want shorter, tighter experiences instead of sprawling 50+ hour open world games.

Sort:  

For these bad open world games I feel like the developers aim to make the game to last longer and longer, not better. That's why they put in the chores to keep the players busy for 50+ hours. Why they can't fill it with interesting stuff that we actually wanted to spend hours instead is maybe because the world size is too damn big and need to have so much things in it, too much that they lose focus on what are they gonna give us from the game. Assassin's Creed is good, but I agree that it is also a good example in this case.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57616.20
ETH 3030.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25