Doki Doki Literature Club! PART 2: Then, It Make Me Can't Sleep

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

"I'm sorry... I was wrong. There's no happiness here after all..."

-Monika (Doki Doki Literature Club!)


Welcome back in my Doki Doki Literature Club! writing(?) post. Because this the second part, it's best if you read part 1 first if you haven't read it. 

Again, I must remind you for spoiler and that this game is not suitable for those who are easily disturbed and so is this post eventhough I only use images that probably aren't as scary as the game. 

In the previous post, all you see is the happy theme of the game from my explaination and mostly from the screenshots, until we got to something that flipped the game 180 degrees. On the last image, when I said it's not just an image of a girl hanging herself it's because of this..

I searched traceback.txt in the game's file and open it. The texts inside are just as normal as the usual log file reporting crash and errors in the game. But in the middle of the error reports, there's this; 

"Oh jeez...I didn't break anything, did I? Hold on a sec, I can probably fix this...I think... Actually, you know what? This would probably be a lot easier if I just deleted her. She's the one who's making this so difficult. Ahaha! Well, here's goes nothing."

From this moment I started to smell some Undertale's 4th wall breaking capability, messing with the game files and all that. Not only that, more files were added; a picture of child-like drawing of hanged Sayori, and two more .txt files that contains a poem and a message, calling to the player.



Oh, Monika, I didn't know you have such Sans of humour!

Let's rewind a bit.
Remember when I said the sweet moment ended in an instant without warning? I was wrong, there was a warning. The main protagonist arrive at school without Sayori before he knew that Sayori is dead.

Feeling horrible for doing so (he should be), he decided to go to Sayori's house only to see her hanging in her room. Monika just brought pun to a whole new level.  


During that Sayori's death scene of course the main protagonist was in shock and can't believe what's in front of his eyes. The screen goes black, the soundtrack is a sad version of the original cheerful soundtrack, confusion, sadness, guilt, all swarming into the main protagonist's head. After that, the game restart itself from the opening and main menu with a glitched image of Monika overlapping Sayori (the image on top).

In Act 2, everything started from the beginning like normal except Sayori is no longer exist, and of course the main protagonist act like everything is normal. But the opening scene script didn't change to match the situation, making the main protagonist say the same thing as in Act 1 resulting in Sayori's name to be glitched like, "That girl is ÒŽÚWwÍHËÍäÄì, my neighbor and good friend since we were children.". 

That's how the game's universe tried to cover up something that no longer exist instead of altering the event, and it got worse when it reached the scene where Sayori supposed to be show up and talk to the main protagonist..

At this point I stayed awake and be ready for any 'surprise' that will come. The horror of this game is so unexpected. I thought it was going to be something like.. maybe a normal ghost or murder mystery investigation. Turns out it's not trying to mess with the main protagonist, but with the player, which is pretty awesome. 

Act 2, day after day played out normally almost like act 1 with altered events and of course.. glitchy horror, not just the gameplay graphic but also the audio sountrack, which I must say pretty cool. The background music and SFX greatly help to induce the right atmosphere.  

..Huh? Where was I?
Everytime I was done making poem, the game always asked whether the player want to read a 'special' poem. As you can probably imagine, it was something creepy instead of poems. Like a child-like drawing of hanged Sayori, or an actual poem but with most of the words blacked out to make a creepy message.

So I continued to get closer to Yuri, significantly closer than before to the point where the main protagonist and Yuri would spend time sitting side by side so close reading a book together. Even more, something kind of cute and romantic happened between the main protagonist and Yuri. 

Yuri  asked the main protagonist to read together on the floor because it's aching her back to read on the desk and the main protagonist agreed, he even got a bag of chocolate candies too.

Yuri's mind burried in the book already, being such a sweetheart, the main protagonist hold a piece of chocolate to Yuri. Without breaking her concentration on the book, Yuri unconsciously parts her lips and eat the chocolate. 

A few seconds later just after Yuri close her lips over the chocholate, her expression eyes wide open and the background music suddenly stopped as she started to breath heavily.
At this point I knew some scary stuff is about to happen, and I was right. 

Yuri grab the main protagonist's arm forcefully and take him into the closet on the back of the classroom. The screen goes dark but not pitch black. I can still see Yuri standing way closer than usual to the screen with eerie expression on her face. It became more unsettling with static sound playing along with the sound of loud heartbeat.

Children are creepy, ear to ear smile is creepy, long hallway is creepy, and now what? Introvert girl is creepy too?

How dark? This dark.

Right after that moment, Yuri's personality turned to be more open towards the main protagonist from time to time in a matter of minutes, and by "open" I mean way too open. Sexually? You could say so, but add "dark" in it.

I mean, how would you react when an introvert girl suddenly say "Can I keep your poem? I'll touch myself while reading it over and over. You can keep my poem too." to you, and she hands you a poem with bloods on it?

Not only Yuri, the game itself getting more and more glitchy as well. From time to time, I saw the hints and got the feeling that the 4th wall breaker is Monika.

This is when the main protagonist find out about the 'other side' of Yuri, aaand of course there's jumpscare. So that's why she have fascination for knives, she always cut herself whenever she get too excited.

The characters, the dialogues, the whole game getting more messed up and messed up. Revealing its hidden horror scene by scene.

I noticed the main protagonist were no longer talk as much as he was in act 1, only the girls' a bunch of dialogue and the narration. Even worse, the girls started to say harsh words like, "Have you consider killing yourself?", or worse, "What the f**k is wrong with your head?!", "Edgy b*tch". Eventhough Natsuki is a little aggressive and they were fighting, it's not something they would say.

-to the main protagonist, right in front of him. To me, the most disturbing thing above all else is smiling expression. Seeing someone smiling and laughing like a maniac while stabbing herself to death? I should thank Team Salvato. In the middle of the unsettling feeling, it was clear to me that Monika is behind all of this. After that, Yuri¼½ôñÕø‡Å¬àVÉÏñÆsÀ´ÓaWxÒ÷ÂVgÓåñã

Sort:  

Good post, I am a photographer, it passes for my blog and sees my content, I hope that it should be of your taste :D greetings

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59236.61
ETH 2600.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42