Do You Play Games to Relax, or When You're Relaxed?

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

A non-scientific ramble of how playing games is good to reduce stress and ease you up. 

Video game... *sigh* what an awesome sh*t. On paper, we play video game for fun, to seek enjoyment. But, when you get into it that "fun" extended by the different experiences games can give, which is what makes it awesome. You may be sad, laugh, shed tears, be amazed, thrilled, a combination of two (or more) emotions, the list goes on. And among that list... relieved of your stress.

Do you play games to relax? I used to. I love gaming. Just like many of you, it's my biggest hobby too. But, there's this one thing that changed in me. Nowadays I can't seem to enjoy any game if I'm not in a relaxed state, which is the opposite of what I used to feel about this matter, and I'm not sure whether I should be bothered by it or not.

For me, there was nothing like finally having the time to boot up the game I've been thinking of after a buttload of homeworks, chores, project this-project that, etc. You know that time when your energy just stuck on 15% and won't go down even though your brain screams "SLEEEEP!"—not until you check your virtual farm, or at least one dungeon, or win a match, or just pass out? Pretty sure I'm not the only one.

And it's not only after a long day of work. I believe we all need some '5 minutes break' during work hours, yes? The cooldown mechanic of human beings. When you're about halfway to finish your task, video game is a good option to help you recover a bit before you go back to whatever it was you're working on.

Of course, not all people choose video game as a way to relax. Even those who loved games don't always play games for that. Such as myself. Sometimes simply lie back listening to music will do. But when you do play something, and does it reduce tension, video game is like a hug and a gentle stroke on the head. 

As a third-grader, I remember always getting very, very excited to play Command and Conquer: Generals after school. There's this one time, so memorable, I had a high fever and was hard for me to sleep as I kept thinking about exam days that was getting close. My father told me "Try to play General (CnC) a bit and you'll get better". So I did. With pleasure.

Naturally, my mother wasn't happy with this. My father, while assuring her that it's okay, also jokingly responded with funny impression of the units—which had nothing to do with what they talked about—like, "Bunkah will be wready soon", "Devastation on its way!", and other units dialogue when she got mad at him. I suppose you'll always be a kid at heart, huh? 

Did it heal my fever afterwards? Yeah! Haha, no. Of course not. Command and Conquer was amazing but it can't do magic. No pun intended. But, I did feel better and somewhat refreshed... which is kind of weird. Because how's a strategy game that would require you to put your brain to work hard refreshing? 

The thought never bothered me until I figured my answer—a non-scientific answer—to this contradiction:
Perhaps it doesn't always necessarily need to be games that are tagged as 'relaxing games'. The ones that you've been craving, or loved most, no matter what genre they may be or what contents they may offer could also make you feel better. Even if it might exhaust you more, when the desire to play it has granted, the exhaustion it may cause is worth the joy and the satisfaction. 

People change from time to time, I know, but sometimes without s/he realize it apparently. Can't remember since when I had this change. It's like there's a bug in my self update. I'll have to do something else to relax first instead of sit back and game on. Otherwise, chances are I'd be clumsy, zoning out, and not a piece of the game would be enjoyable. Not even genuinely 'relaxing games' would be of help. I wouldn't want to hate a great game just because I didn't find it to be fun because I played in a bad mood. 

We all need to know what's good for us, obviously. But it's surprising how some people practically ignore what they already know well. Sometimes when gaming failed to make you relax, it's better to stop and do something else, other activity, other hobbies. 


Of course, this varies from person to person. But, whether you play games to relax or play when you're relaxed, no matter what the difference between each of us, surely we can agree that it's best to avoid the bad, unwanted circumstance, yes? Which is getting more stressful than you already are. Well, that's a little reminder from a fellow gamer. Thanks for stopping by, Steemian. I hope my ramblings don't make you stressed!

For more gaming stuff...
follow me, would you kindly?


Previous Post:


Images sources: 1, 2,3


DISCLAIMER: All artworks in this post (except the cited ones) are belongs to me and I don't allow you, your partner, your cassowary, or your waifu to use them without my consent. Think I'm a smug? Fine by me. Happened before. Hate it if it happen again.

Sort:  

Congratulations @gaming-stuff! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

I definitely don't see gaming as "relaxed", although I used to when I was younger. I game when I find the time (very short sessions, usually), but I wouldn't consider games like Outlast 2 or Oxenfree relaxing - in fact, they're quite the opposite, and yet those are the experiences that I prefer in gaming, something that makes me feel, either emotions or pure dread. Even stress comes from some gaming sessions (Outlast 2 again, Resident Evil 7...).

Sure, some games are relaxing, Unravel, for example. But I go into games when I'm already relaxed, and then the chosen game provides me with some kind of experience, usually something that gets my mind going, not relaxed at all. I'm a puppet in the hands of games :D

I'm also play games because I want to experience something instead of to relax. Oxenfree was amazing, I want more games like that. I can't say anything about Outlast 2 but I got a lot of 'almost shit my pants' moments from the first one. Both are certainly not 'relaxing' games, but yeah, that's the reason why I (we) play them. There's even a game that, seems to me was meant to distress you for the lolz: Getting Over it with Bennett Foddy.

I write this post based on the difference I've seen from people around me. Some play as a refreshment, some for the thrill, and some won't stop playing (or change the game) even when they lost their sh*t and rage quit lol.

And I Wanna Be The Boshy, as well as others, are meant to challenge and frustrate. Not a fan of those at all xD

I just want to live a nice experience. Games with some kind of story of a great setting that will take me to another place (Silent Hill 2, even Resident Evil 7). Not currently a big fan of strategy and simulations, but I've been there as well.

Is the first image with the croissant from a game? It looks really nice.

Yes, it's from BioShock Infinite: Burial at Sea ep 2. From the opening scene where the player get to walk around in a very small part of Paris.

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/nAUkxws. Good Game, Well Played!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62831.42
ETH 3123.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85