Cancelled Games, Cancelled Fun

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

"Why do you ask what? When the delicious question is when?"
-Lutece Twins

Waiting for a promising looking game to be released and put high expectations on the upcoming game and then we see the news from the developer that the game we've been waiting for years is officially cancelled is of course disappointing. Even the developer themselves amazed with their own in-development game, but for some certain reason still ended up cancelled. These are the 3 my most anticipated games that could have been great games but ended up cancelled.

Fable Legends

Img src

Fable Legends was supposed to be a cooperative action role-playing game. The previous game, Fable 3, made me expecting a sequel to it because it was good, not the best but still a fun game. In Fable 3, our character faced with many occurances where we need to decide what to do to deal with the problems. And every decisions we made actually lead to different circumstances that has a pretty big impact to us. That's a really good concept back then. 

Img src

Fable Legends was announced in 2013,  and it previously scheduled to release during the fourth quarter of 2015. I was really curious and been anticipating Fable Legends because I wanted to see if they keep that concept and make them even better. From what I've seen the game looks really promising, also it was a free to play game. What more do we want? Judging by the look, it seems really interesting game with a nice atmosphere and that kind of graphic style that I like. I think this game will get a lot of players and become a pretty good game that worth to be made, but from the developer's point of view that'd be wrong. 

Img src

It was said Fable Legends was a controversial project nobody wanted to work on, because Lionhead "knew internally that the game wasn't incredibly fun and lacked features that a free-to-play game should have.". Another Fable Legends cancellation reasons are the high production cost, the constant delays and the lack of player interest. Well, I'm totally wrong.


EverQuest Next

Img src

I was highly anticipating this game, because I didn't get to play the previous EverQuest games which seems pretty good and I thought I would give a try on this one. This sandbox style MMO looks fun and beautifully designed, and it has a more stylized art style. Daybreak Game Company also create the environment to be destructible, including the trees. Yes, trees.. You know, the strongest object in video games. Imagine casting a devastating spell to a stone wall and it leave the wall destroyed, not just a burnt black spot that will disappear 5 seconds later. And that concept blown me away!

The game was supposed to be available on PlayStation 4 and PC. Unfortunately, Daybreak president Russell Shanks officially announced its cancellation on 11 March 2016 due to the game simply was not fun and didn't meet the EverQuest franchise's standards. 

Img src

EverQuest Next was supposed to be released along with its voxel-building tool EverQuest Next Landmark. While EverQuest Next cancelled, the supposed building tool Landmark were continuing and evolved into its own game, although it was more of a building game and not exactly the same as the cancelled one. Unfortunately (again), the server was shut down last February. 


Command and Conquer: Generals 2

Img src

Command and Conquer: Generals Zero Hour was the RTS game that brought me to the world of gaming. Zero Hour actually was an expansion of CnC Generals that released in 2003, it adds more abilities to each factions and new play mode. When I heard that there will be the second game, I get excited more than I should, because RTS was my favorite genre. In CnC Zero Hour there are 3 factions with 9 different generals each with their own specialty. In CnC Generals 2, there were more new divisions with even more lethal abilities as shown in the following images

Img src

Looks pretty cool, right? Sadly, EA officially cancelled the free to play CnC Generals 2 and disbanded the development team at Los Angeles based Victory Games too. According to the official cancellation letter, they cease the development because of the fedback from the alpha trials is unexpectedly not good, that EA were not making the game that they wanted to play.  

" That is why, after much difficult deliberation, we have decided to cease production of this version of the game. Although we deeply respect the great work done by our talented team, ultimately it's about getting you the game you expect and deserve." 

Img src


Those were the 3 my most anticipated games that ended up cancelled. It's a shame really, after all the efforts they did they realize in the halfway of development that the game was clearly unworthy to be developed. I just did a little 'review' to games that I never actually played and that makes me feel weird for some reason. How about you? Were you expecting these games too? Or there were another games that you been waiting for but never came out? 



Img src for the top pic.
Follow me for daily dose of gaming stuff.

Sort:  

Cool article man. Kinda made me feel a bit sad tho. Makes me think about Half Life 3. Warcraft 4 used to be on top of my list but there has been an ongoing rumor that Blizzard has been thinking about making one for a long time.

Please take my 100% upvote and followed you as well.

Thank you. I feel sorry for the developers's team, they have put their effort to make the game as perfect as it could be and ended up as nothing.
And yeah, I hope Blizzard really make Warcraft 4, don't feel like to hear anymore cancellation news

Man Command and Conquer Generals was such a great game i loved it , i loved it just as much as Red Alert 2.

Its shame that C&C has fallen so far... oh well i can always play Grey Goo

Great Read, Thanks +1 Upvote

Thanks. Imagine if the second game wasn't cancelled. It's an awesome game and free to play, man, what more do we want. I still don't understand the "we are not making the game you wanted to play" part. I mean, was it that bad?

I'm really sad about Generals 2, we haven't had a C&C game in so long.

Me too, I really wanted that Generals 2. There is a mod for C&C Zero Hour to change its appearance to Generals 2, but I'm not sure it would be the same

That could be fun, but sadly not the same. I wish they'd make a new Red Alert game, that could be fun. Or to relse Emperor Battle for Dune again.

Starcraft Ghosts is my #1 on my list

Although it was not my #1 list, I was also curious about StarCraft: Ghost too. Why do the awesome looking games are cancelled

i love C & C generals. but sadly it canceled.

Yeah me too. By the way, how did you find this a month old post?

its easy.... theres a search icon on the top right area so i use it....

(Click on search button), (Type in "@gaming-stuff's best post")
Oh you are right this search feature is amazing dayum!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60907.24
ETH 3249.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45