4 Reasons Why Kids Should Game

in #gaming7 years ago

image1

So lately, I have been getting into a lot of trouble off my dear mother for gaming too much. That’s normal right? I mean, all of your parents must be the same, I haven’t met any parents that really support their children in gaming (aside from buying them the games they want). When I have children (and that is in the very far and distant future), I will not only support their gaming interests, I will 100% encourage them (and actively smash them in whatever game they want to be good at) for these 4 reasons!

1. Gaming, is just simply the best.
Obviously. I mean c’mon, being a kid kind of sucks a lot of the time, even adulthood does at times. Gaming is such an easy way to blow off steam, escape and even learn. Yeah, you can blow off steam and get your mind off things other ways like running, drawing or reading, but there is just something different about flopping in front of your computer or console and smashing out a few bad guys. To me, the best way to deal with a bad day is to grab my headset and immerse myself into a world where I know hard work and perseverance does pay off, and then in turn try to use that in the real world. To win (which then brings me to my next point).

2. Gaming teaches perseverance
To get better at a game; you need to play it (I guess the same could be said about life). From easy to difficult, to repeating the same quest over and over again, there is no way that the game will say ‘Good job, you can go to the next level because you tried hard and that’s all that matter’. No. Way. You want that level, you have to work your ass off. Trying really hard isn’t good enough, you have to earn it.

3. Losing with grace
Losing is a necessity. No one can be the champion for too long, trust me I know. No one could beat me at Tekken, I was unstoppable for years, until that one fateful day at the arcade where my streak ended. It sucks. But what sucks even more, is those salty players that throw tantrums when you’re a better sniper or better mid laner than them. You can’t always be the best, but you learn from that and day by day or game by game you get a little better.

4. Gaming connects them to a global community
Most of the games that I play are multiplayer, and I prefer it that way. I can connect to friends over in the suburb over, within Australia and/or around the world. My brother plays with people in USA, New Zealand and Philippines; meanwhile, I have made some of the greatest friends ever all over Australia. I feel like it makes the world a very tangible and real place for everyone, you learn about their culture or language.

image2

Gamers come from all ages and backgrounds and walks of life, and yet they are all still united by one thing; the love of the game. There is hardly anything to fear from gamers, probably just the use of profanity thrown around. But to me, gaming is good, for all of us, regardless of age.

Beth Weynberg
Gamers Classified

Website for Gaming News: gamersclasssified.com
Website for Gaming Classifieds : classifieds.gamersclassified.com

Twitter: twitter.com/gamesclassified

Facebook: facebook.com/GamersClassified

Instagram: instagram.com/gamersclassified

Sort:  

When you seeing gamer who can be extremely competitive in league of legend game where millions of people are watching and thing is just so different comparing from the past.

Gaming is changing so fast!

What a fresh perspective. Follow me @aboylal :).

I will personally restrict computer access to my kids. Mainly because my childhood has revolved around computers with not much else in it, and it hasn't been good for me. I'd rather them spend time playing outside, or doing other productive things like learning instruments. I mean they will have to use them at times because computers are almost a necessity now and into the future, but I really don't think spending multiple hours each day on the computer or playing games is that good, because it can be used as an escape from reality, which is what I have done and pretty much continue to do.

Everything in moderation is key :)

Yeah, after thinking about it a bit, I'm not actually 100% sure how much I'll restrict it, I think games can be good, but I just don't want a repeat of my childhood.

I couldn't agree anymore :)

It's funny how many parents see gaming as loosing time instead of teaching their kids that it could be research time for a career. If you were reading investment and trading articles for hours, no one will complain.
Also, there's a negative side: I have seen many introvert people, or people with social problems hide behind games instead of going out and face their fears.

You betcha! Its unfortunate thats how people see it but slowly I can see the Stigma breaking. As for playing too much and not exercising other skills, that in itself is a problem indeed.

My Mom plays Wow and other mmo's XD

Well you mum certainly is an awesome mum!

This is great and concise. Any one of these ideas could be expanded upon but you've summarised the main points perfectly :)

I usually play single player games but I'm thinking of giving Overwatch a try some time soon.

You should definitely give Overwatch a try :) I'm loving it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 65236.24
ETH 3401.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.19