My son has it.

in #gaming6 years ago

OK so this is it on the buildup to my Quest. The final instalment of how I got here.

Screen Shot 2018-02-20 at 16.02.21.png

My son is 5 years old, and been new age serious parents, my wife and I decided that we should limit his time in front of the screen to help him grow up as best we can. John Medina in his “Your Best Brain” book states that TV for kids is toxic because it doesn’t teach them anything! Thinking about this now I ask myself “Does this apply to games”. I don’t think so.

My reasoning: There was a very interesting Steemit post I went through the other day, detailing why playing certain games is actually good for kids. I did some further research and can agree. Some of the findings are improved logic, reflexes, reaction time, problem solving and a lot more BUT one needs to be carefull. Kids at this age are still developing and like most things requires delicate balance.

My son is also showing a talent not in playing games but in this field. He will sit with my iPad and run through Apples coding app ‘Swift Playground’ for hours and I see the passion in solving it, moving drip around and the way he is “in the app”. Its when he is writing this code I see myself. Ok so I couldn’t see myself when I was young but I can remember the passion, the excitement and the enjoyment. Many of you will say that Im been a typical dad and he is a typical kid but to for those who have ventured through Swift Playground will understand that its not a game, its learning how to code, logic, problem solving and more. For a 5 year old I am impressed.

I believe that kids need to find their own passion in life but for them to find it they need to be exposed to as many things as they can, when they find something they like, harness it and see if it takes them somewhere. If my little dude can relate coding to games andhe enjoys both then maybe this is his future. But as I said, careful balance is needed and the “gaming” part of it will need to be used as a reward for doing what a normal kid should do, that play outside.

On the gaming front I bought COD WW2, went home, put it in and then I went to bed……..15gb update…are you serious!, did you rewrite the game or something Sledgehammer!

Andrew

Sort:  

Congratulations @gameinformer! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @gameinformer! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66902.20
ETH 3248.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64