Steemit Gaming Challenge: Why Games Are Good

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)


Source

I have been nominated for a challenge by the great colleague gamer @retro-room which I like very much and I consider it ideal to talk a little about my personal tastes in video games, the challenge is to name 4 video games that defined you as a player, It is very difficult for me to decide because I have had the opportunity to play a lot of games since the Atari 2600, but I focus on those who gave me to know genres that are currently my favorites, with this list I do not pretend to say that for me they are the best videogames in history or in my life, they simply gave me the base to form the tastes that I currently have for video games, maybe two more are missing from the list, but I only have to choose 4, so let's start.


Source

Kicks, fists, dying in the most stupid way, difficulty at the top and many other things are what identify this video game, I clearly remember that at the time they gave me the NES came with several cartridges, one of them was Double Dragon 2 , its cover was the one that most caught my attention, that's how I started my adventure with this video game, I played it countless times with my brother, every time I passed a level it was very exciting, but the troll that could happen to me is When I finished it for the first time, I had to finish it in the maximum difficulty, it was the only way to face the final boss and save our beautiful girlfriend, I had no choice but to do an intensive training to see that longed-for end. Thanks to Double Dragon 2 my passion for the Beat 'em up grew in an incredible way, so it has its great merit among the long list of video games that I have been able to play in my entire life.

Source


Source

The words that I mention in this little paragraph will be very short because of the great affection and appreciation that I have for this game, Chrono Trigger for me it symbolized the beginning of the taste towards the RPG, in those days my parents did not have enough money to be able to give me this videogame, many classmates made me good comments about him, I remember one day a fellow passes me two Diskette, he tells me that one is a Super Nintendo emulator and another the Chrono Trigger game, I could not believe that in the computer I could play that video game that had me totally wrong, as soon as I arrived at the house I proceeded to copy the files (in those years they were copied very slow XD) in this way I played for the first time the emulator of Zsnes with Chrono Trigger, no I was able to detach myself from this video game for approximately 1 month, its history completely enveloped me.

Source

After a long time the PSX version came out, so do not hesitate for a second to acquire it, here were small videos which looked almost identical to Dragon Ball (well it is obvious since the person in charge of the illustrations was Akira Toriyama) , this simply caused a new addiction to the game, returning it to play from beginning to end, although there were already several RPGs in those years, this was the first that allowed me to experiment in a curious way, giving me the necessary knowledge to be able to play other games of this genre, at some point I will devote his post, but I think it would take me a week to do it XD.

Source


Source

Long before this videogame came out I really liked the shooters in the first person, it is impossible to forget DOOM, Quake 1 and 2 among others, but the one that marked a before and after for me was unquestionably Hal-Life, this video game was the one It made me interested in PC hardware, because I made a community of this videogame, we linked several computers through a Swich and UTP5 cables, all in order to compete who was the best playing in mode Deathmatch, however, my computer was the least updated of all, it was just a Pentium I 133Mhz with a 2Mb graphics card, I got to the point of becoming so crazy to look for computer parts and computer repair shops no longer used, to build a PC capable of playing optimally, finally putting together a COMPAQ Presario with a Pentium I MMX 233 Mhz processor and a 32 MB ATI DIAMOND graphic card, at that time I was dem Assured happy since I could finally play this videogame to its full potential, both its competitive mode and the story mode are simply incredible, thanks to Half Life the FPS became my life a total madness.

Source


Source

Castlevania has been one of the sagas I've played the most in my life, from the first that appeared on the NES to the most recent, of all its games my favorite is Super Catlevania IV of the SNES, but the one that really consumed me A lot of time was Symphony of the Night, from the first moment I was able to play it in the house of a classmate I was totally shocked with this videogame, wanting to acquire as fast as possible a PSX (by my hands the N64 passed first). The first video game that I placed in that console was Castlevania SOTN, the Super Metroid type mapping for me was addictive, I wanted to discover every inch of the map, the music, the enemies, bosses, scenarios, everything seemed impressive to me, later on I found out Sega Saturn version, I could only play it through an emulator, but it was totally worth it, because unlike the American version this had many additional things, when a video game is similar to this I do not doubt even a second to pass it.

Source

Each of these games symbolize much of my gamer life, they made me pass joys, anger, moments of frustration to say a few bad words in high tones, but I can say that they formed the great gamer that I am today, it may be that I'm missing some games, but maybe next time I'll be able to show them to you.

Now it's time to throw grenades to see who picks it up and see the next victims of this challenge I mention:

@anomadsoul
@controlcold
@charline
@demoledorachang
@donkeypong
@drakkomaximo1234
@freddbrito
@free999enigma
@hegaby
@henryn2020
@jodipamungkas
@malvarezmusic
@megusta
@pacokam8
@playfulfoodie
@rayken04
@triverse
@yaniria1


Fuente
See You!!!

Sort:  

Excellent choices all around. I'm especially glad to see Double Dragon II getting some love, as it's my favorite of the NES trilogy. Chrono Trigger and Symphony of the Night are both ones I considered putting on my list as well. It seems we share many things in common. :)

It is good to see another gamer that likes Double Dragon II, for me it is also the best of the NES trilogy, there are some like Top Gear 2 or Mario RPG that also deserved their appearance, but I could only choose 4 =(. Thanks for your comment @modernzorker.

Nice list! SOTN is one of my favorite games of all time. In addition, Double Dragon 2 was the first arcade machine that I ever bought, and its been with me through 3 moves.

Do you have the DDII arcade? OMG XD, SOTN is incredible, it really is a videogame that catches you from the first moment you play it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63057.34
ETH 2546.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64