The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim - 5 mods I can't play without

in #gaming7 years ago

I love the Skyrim modding scene. There's no other game with such a large amount of options or tools, to extensively tweak every playthrough to your needs. No such thing as too much customization, and I'll be damned if every little rock doesn't look just how I want.

screenshot161.png

Let's not forget every inch of water too.

As of writing this, I have approxmiately 500 mods of my selection installed, out of a personalized mod library of nearly 700 files. This takes a load of 62 gigabytes of space on my SSD, largely to the amount of high resolution textures I have. Keep in mind the original game (DLC included) is only about 9 GB!

mosize.png

Over the years, lots of people have made their own compilations of their 'must-have' mods in their load order, showcasing the best the community has to offer. However, most of these feature mods everyone has already seen or are pretty outdated. Instead of the usual 'bugfixes and essentials', here are five of my hand-picked gems I'm sure will have you itching to install Skyrim once more.

1) True Storms - Thunder and Rain Redone

Skyrim sure is pretty during clear skies, but why is the weather always like that? The heaviest of rain in the vanilla game might as well be called drizzles. Combine this with a lack of particles or sound effects and you have a rather lackluster storm.

vanillarain.jpg

No wonder the NPCs don't give a shit and go about their daily business anyway.

Talented mod author FadingSignal shakes it up with thunder, ambient rain sounds of varying intensity, and new rain/snow particle effects for all your downpour needs.

enb 2017_07_07 07_40_15_73.png

enb 2017_07_07 07_48_00_58.png

ScreenShot167.png

Lightning strikes periodically, capable of even hitting targets and causing damage!

No amount of screenshots can do this amazing mod justice, I highly recommend you watch it in action here.
[[embed url=

]

2) The Notice Board

Inspired from other games like The Witcher, this mod adds notice boards to every major hold in Skyrim. I always thought it was ridiculous that bounties and the like could only be given from innkeepers. This mod redistributes and overhauls the system, in a way I think it should have originally been like. Quite refreshing from walking up to every NPC in the game and asking them about their life story.

enb 2017_07_07 08_09_06_42.jpg

ScreenShot169.jpg

The best part about this is that you aren't the only one looking at these! Mercenaries seeking gold will actively view and take up the quests themselves. You can sometimes find them in dungeons later, looking to claim that juicy bounty on a bandit or rescue a kidnapped bum. There's even an option to partner up with them, splitting the reward and getting some much needed help for lower leveled players.

ScreenShot114.png

Blacksmiths shouldn't exist just to serve only the player right?

But is that what you want? A craftier Dragonborn (with no morals whatsoever) could always use them as pawns, letting them take the brunt of the heat. Eyeing their equipment? Double cross and take them out once the main threat has been dealt with. This opens up a fun bit of encounters and options for you to choose from, after all; you shouldn't be the only one making moves in Skyrim.

Not interested in assisting others? There are many variations of messages, not just chores and to-do lists. They may range from topics of local people, love letters, pranks, nonsense missive, to short stories of all kinds.

enb 2017_07_07 08_06_07_28.jpg

Seperate board for town rumors and local talk, a nice extra bit of flavour

3) The Elder Scrolls General Loadscreen Replacer

Skyrim's loading screens are not only boring, but full of shit. Alright to be fair, they are perfectly functional and aren't meant to be very exciting to begin with.

OBHzW.jpg

That doesn't mean I should have to sit through the same ones over and over again though! This mod replaces the loading screens in Skyrim with over 200 screenshots that were filtered and processed to ressemble oil paintings. Some of them might be too silly for some people, but for people who hate fun, there's an optional download to exclude those. Here are just a couple of my favourite ones.

enb 2017_07_07 07_59_57_41.jpg

ac207793.jpg

tesgls (103).jpg

tesgls (10).jpg

tesgls (87).jpg

tesgls (29).jpg

tesgls (57).jpg

tesgls (73).jpg

72850_screenshots_2014-07-23_00001.jpg

Mammoths are commonly sighted being herded by Giants. They are relatively peaceful unless approached. Some can even fly.

4) SeamansFollower

These are companions who will either creep you out or make you laugh. While they don't make very much sense and I'd never be able to take them seriously, I love how they look and refuse to play without this installed.

enb 2017_07_07 08_43_55_40.png

Meet Ondego Fidelaid Brava, a 'Horkerman'

enb 2017_07_07 08_41_56_09.jpg

CRAB PEOPLE, CRAB PEOPLE

enb 2017_07_07 08_44_08_27.png

Oceano Justaid Atentema, a fishman...thing.

enb 2017_07_07 08_51_22_65.jpg

Even the cold gets to a man made out of blubbering fat

enb 2017_07_07 08_51_36_45.jpg

Settle down, I just wanted to help

enb 2017_07_07 08_46_05_33.jpg

5) ENB (VandB Nature)

ENB, aka ENBSeries is a graphical modification for many games, including Skyrim. It uses a modified d3d9.dll file, implementing new graphical options such as ambient occlusion, indirect lighting, Bokeh depth-of-field, lens effects, better bloom, HDR, tone maping, parallax maping, vignette, sun rays, detailed shadows, film grain, reflections and much more to come in later versions.

enb 2017_07_07 08_21_41_59.jpg

For those of you who didn't understand a single thing I just said: It makes shit look good.

Even if you have the best textures in the world, Skyrim can only overcome it's graphics plateau and aged engine with this mod. It's true that you don't need all these visuals, (it can be painstakingly hard to get all of them to work together) but I would never skip this one.

enb 2017_07_07 07_31_55_86.jpg

There are all kinds of different ENB presets to suit all kinds of tastes, which can especially help if you are trying to go for a certain atmosphere in your game. Some are chosen for their colour palettes, others for their latest shaders.

73848-53-1456558901.jpg

Tetrachromatic ENB

24828-1-1460893552.jpg

Bleak ENB

67483-0-1435931302.jpg

Rampage ENB

ENB also provides memory fixes that help prevent Skyrim from crashing that everyone can use, simply disable its visual effects if your setup isn't beefy enough, allowing you to benefit with no real cost.

If you do wish to install one, bear in mind that it applies these effects via post-processing, and can be incredibly performance heavy. There are some ENBs that gives you unplayable framerates in exchange for extravagant effects; VandB ENB is not one of them!

enb 2017_06_30 15_34_45_65.jpg

I use VandB, as it allows me to play at a stable 60 FPS in most places, dipping to about 40-50 in large-scale battles. I could probably use a 'better looking' one since I have a modest GPU (GTX 970), but VandB excels in a few areas that are of value to me.

For starters, it has compatibility for all the weather mods I enjoy, including the first one on this list. This is unlike some ENBs, which come with many in-built prerequisites that can conflict with your own personal preference of textures or lighting.

Secondly, it looks great at all times of day. Many ENBs look weird at night or dawn, because the authors created a specific look for day, that also amplifies the darkness at night. Some people might like this, but I prefer my nights to not be extremely dark or be pitch black.

enb 2017_06_30 16_32_44_33.png

Lastly, it's not over the top. I think some ENBs really push the bloom, contrast, and lens flares a bit too much for my liking. It's not to say they're bad, they're just not my style; my eyes are too sensitive for that sort of thing.

58338-1-1411315141.jpg

K ENB Pure Light

ScreenShot132.png

I much prefer my evenings to look like this.

Hope you've enjoyed this second peek into my personal modded version of Skyrim. Thanks for reading, I'll see you n'wahs in my next post.

"Sky above, Voice within."

ScreenShot172.jpg

Credits and download:

True Storms - Thunder and Rain Redone by FadingSignal
The Notice Board by MannyGT
The Elder Scrolls General Loadscreen Replacer by TESG
SeamansFollower by m150
VandB ENB Nature by kek668

Check out my original Skyrim post if you haven't already!

Sort:  

Have you tried the Pokemon one?

There are plenty of Pokemon mods, all of which are pretty ridiculous (though some of them look fun). Which one are you refering to?

I appreciate you putting the download links, This gives me a good starting point.

Credit where credit is due, after all I didn't make these mods; just installed and put them all pretty together.

Good going! Keep up the good work :) Thanks for the update!

Thank you, I'll keep the Skyrim content coming if that's what people want!

Oh fuck... You're making me want to start a new Skyrim game all over again. X_X RIP my life.

Welcome back to Tamriel, Dovahkiin.

Standard or remade version?

Standard. I haven't touched Skyrim Special Edition as SKSE and other 'framework' mods haven't made their way there yet. As much as I'd love the optimization the remastered version offers, that's not worth losing what I can't bring over from regular Skyrim; at least to me.

That being said, I do believe 'True Storms - Thunder and Rain Redone' has already been ported over, and some mods that did require the script extender have found workarounds. Special Edition is definitely 'superior' for those who already have the mods they want there, but I am not one of them.

Those are some amazing graphics. It's been a couple years since I played Skyrim and that was on a laptop. I've been putting off building a gaming rig because we move around so often, but now you're tempting me.

Do you have any videos showing the gameplay with your chosen mods installed?

Not of this current setup yet I'm afraid. I used to have older recordings, though I'm not sure where they are now. Sorry about that, maybe I'll include a bit of personal gameplay in a future mod showcase!

Well I'll follow so that I don't miss it!

Sometimes I don't think people actually even like Skyrim. They just love mods. haha PS. The most disturbing mod I've seen is one my cousin showed me where all the dragons are skinned to look like Macho Man Randy Savage. Terrifying.

Considering the majority of the playerbase are on the consoles, I'd say more people are just fans of the base game as it is. Once you start modding though, you can never go back; you'll wonder how you ever played without them to begin with.

Wow... I have never played Skyrim with mods before and my old roommate was right... It's the best way to play the game.

Mods are why many people still cherish this game after so many years. It's a wonderful cycle that keeps content coming long after developers have stopped working. Best of all: it's completely free of charge.

I really need to get my computer set up to jam on some skyrim... I'm going to check out some mods for Torchlight 2 which is the only thing I'm playing right now

everyone has those mods already, this article is kind of useless

Congratulations @futasakuya! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84