You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I earned money though 'coaching' video games

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

Hey ggorwell, great questions there friend.

I did a couple years ago when the scene was relatively young, but my stary-gazed eyes faded, when I considered the other ugly prospects of pro gaming most people ignore. Could I really stand playing dota 6 hours a day? What my chances of finding 4 like-minded individuals with no foundation to play with?

Locking yourself in a room, living together and getting angry at 'friends' for months on end, just grinding strats raw practices, (also probably forced to play some garbage hero I don't even like) it just all doesn't seem or look very fun. What if I'm still looking at shabby 'prizes' like novelty headphones or keyboards after a year of that? I'm skilled enough to be a pub star, but I don't think I have what it takes, or at least the tolerance to go pro.

Yes you can make a living, but it is extremely taxing. My voice died out frequently as I had to be talking all the time. My students were from all kinds timezones, which led me to doing lessons at odd hours sometimes, like 4 in the morning. Hence why I've taken a break from it and why I took on students at my leisure to begin with.

My favourite player? The one and only Arteezy

thanks for your response!

Edit: some reformating

Sort:  

Thanks for answering! Yeah I think if you "must" play every day for many hours the fun aspect will be going away pretty quick.
Looking forward to read more from you here on steemit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59907.23
ETH 2647.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43