You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wolfenstein 2: The New Colossus hands-on: Masterful mix of brutality and humor

in #gaming7 years ago

Wow a great preview! Thank you for that @gamesjoyce !
I have replayed Wolfenstein: The New Order recently and was again amazed by the creativity of the creators to build this oppressive, dark, violent Post-War world with such details!
In my head I was thinking - yeah, yeah this could have totally might have happened( minus the jest, the robot dogs and big robots :P ) .
At the same time they gave our fellow B.J. Blazkowicz such an emotional depth, compared to being the 16bit guy with the big guns :P
Now you have rekindled my impatience to play this next chapter,but there is still so much time left!
And now I am sad :(

Sort:  

Not to spoil anymore details then I already did in the article, but the emotional depth of the characters definitely seems to take center stage again in The New Colossus, without being corny or melodramatic.

At the end of the first mission for example, after killing dozens of Nazi's in the most brutal ways possible, there's a nice heartfelt reunion between some of the main characters (hence the name of the missions 'The Reunion'). On paper that combination between ultra violence and 'real' emotions shouldn't, but it really does.

I really enjoy your insights of the theme and depth of games!
In my view they are naturally progressing and are closing in to the interactive story-telling medium that they inspire to be.
I will be sure to follow your future posts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63094.38
ETH 3148.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88