Entrepreneurial HurdlessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gaming7 years ago

Red8.jpg

I’ve been asked to elaborate on the challenges faced along the way, while building the game we now call “Frenemies”. The biggest challenge for me personally, has been learning to recognize the difference between what I want to deliver, and what I actually can deliver.

What you want versus what you can actually do

Red1.jpg

Putting my ego in check, learning to listen with an open mind, and being honest with myself about the reality of the situation, has been essential to making it this far. My original vision for Frenemies was 25-100 person games. But the reality doesn’t support that vision. Someday, we may very well orchestrate large scale tournaments and make such large games happen, but I had to let it go for now. I had to acknowledge the fact that most people don’t bring 25-100 people into their homes for any reason, much less to play board games. It is an interesting concept. But it is not the way the world works.
Red3.jpg
I made promises that I failed to keep. I told a number of friends, and even my own family, that I would ship them a ‘Master’s Edition’. I made those promises before I fully understood the commitment of work required to complete a full set. A full day is required, to put together a complete set of the Frenemies ‘Master Edition’, and that’s assuming nothing gets in the way. Five hours to cut, another couple to paint and assemble. Putting together a ‘Master Edition’ takes a lot of time, and we’re running short on that most valuable commodity. I currently have four sets, and doubt I’ll be able to put together any others. We need two for our Japan tour, and the others will be distributed for marketing purposes. That’s it. That’s the best I can do right now, given time, space, and resources I have to work with.

The process of building something and hitting various development milestones along the way, always carries with it a high level of excitement. And the finish line always seems just a little bit closer than it actually is. Managing my enthusiasm and controlling the urge to say things I can’t support has been difficult.

Red5.jpg

I’ve never been a public figure before. Therefore, I’ve never been subjected to public scrutiny, or ever had to consider the consequences of speaking to soon or saying things I can’t actually back up. Now that has to change. I have to think before I speak, and avoid making promises I can’t keep.

The end is in sight, but some work still remains.

Red6.jpg

Red7.jpg

Sort:  

Excellent @frenemies

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57226.98
ETH 2416.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29