Dead Games No One Played: Medieval Mayor

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

Medieval Mayor - To end a month of city building games, we take a moment to remember the dream that could have been and could one day may still be. Medieval Mayor was a walker system based city builder designed by some of the people that used to work at Impression Games, that aimed to bring the formula to a new audience, in a new setting. But six years later, there’s only silence.

Extra:

-Stefan Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/CNonsense
-Stefan Steemit Profile: @stefanonsense
-Chris Beatrice Interview:
http://www.games-arena.ro/2012/10/26/interview-chris-beatrice-medieval-mayor/

We are supporting Steem/Steemit/DLive.io/D.Tube through our Shows


Support Us and Our Work !

Youtube.com/c/GaminGHD | Minds.com/GaminGHD | Gab.ai/GaminGHD | Patreon.com/GaminGHD | Steemit.com/@free999enigma | D.Tube/c/GaminGHD | DLive.io/#/@GaminGHD |

- UPVOTE - RESTEEM - COMMENT - FOLLOW -

Gaming-Related Friends you should follow: @StefaNonsense & @ropname & @unacomn & @vladalexan
GaminGHD Discord Server https://discord.gg/CZSXJwy
Sort:  

we take a moment to remember the dream

Woot-woot! Thanks for the shout-out! When you were talking about the fact that not a lot of city-builders were made to fit in the medieval era, I instantly thought about at least one title: Knights and Merchants, which I have on my city builder to-play-and-review schedule :D But I need Stellaris to let go of my attention span for that to happen :))

I have to admit, I knew nothing at all about this project. I'd love to see it released one day, although I'm quite pessimistic about it.

Thinking on it a little bit, one has to admit that city builders with complex mechanics nowadays have to put up with a lot of obstacles, they've kind of become a niche product because they take a lot of time to be mastered and enjoyed and people are looking for either more immediate, action-packed or plot-packed products, or for casual crappy games, the likes of which we are used to see on mobile, where you don't really have to choose what to do and when to do it.

I personally tried more recent products and I didn't really like them as I used to (setting aside Cities: Skyline for a minute, Anno 2070 comes to mind immediately).
At any rate, Medieval Mayor is definitely something I would play, if it ever came out.

Have you tried Banished? It's still my standard in terms of solid, modern city builders.

There's a couple of very promising-looking new city builder games in development right now, that I'm keeping a very close eye on: Foundation and Ancient Cities

Truth be told, I've had Banished in my library for a while but I still haven't found the time to try it. I had kinda forgot about it! I'll give it a try one of these days, when I get some free time :) Thanks for the reminder dude!

Authenticity BOT!


Great job! We found more similar posts, but your post is the 1st one posted.
GrumpyCat / https://steewit.com/@grumpycat
can give you a downvote because of the copies!
Defend yourself! / https://steewit.com/delegation/@erodedthoughts/defend-yourself-against-grumpycat

Hi there, my guy. @peopleofthenight has made an initiative to bring gamers and Steemians alike to a community of people filled with gamers, so promoting Steemit comes with it! Come join us. We would love to have you there.

https://discord.gg/5sqeX95

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63548.34
ETH 2646.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74