Player Characters episode 7: Building a gaming community from a hostel in Mexico | Ben - Slothyy

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

Subscribe on Apple Podcast

Title:

Building a gaming community from a hostel in Mexico | Ben - Slothyy

Guest:

Ben - Slothyy

Twitter: @getslothyy
Steemit: steemit.com/@getslothyy
Dlive: dlive.io/@getslothyy)

Advice:

Leverage all you possible can.

Your brand is your most important thing besides your product.

Find that little niche and run it, make it yours. Don't copy what everybody else is doing.

Either get a website going or get an e-mail list going and just engage with people.
Send them a weekly update. Send out a little digest.
For your personal brand you could do a weekly recap of your favorite moment or your most valuable lesson of the week for others that are trying to follow in your footsteps. Whatever it maybe. Do something that sets you apart from others.

Highlights:

Ben talks about how his passion for gaming started with playing NES with his father and also going to Magic the Gathering tournaments in addition to doing his own tournaments with friends and family.

Later he got lost in World of Warcraft.
We talk about how the experiences in games and in MMO's in particular, whether in Player versus Player or in the cooperative setting of raids, can teach you valuable life lessons in getting humbled and being humble.

Later he started building and repairing computers and that led to starting his own company. That it turn led to making websites, and optimising those to get more traffic.

Fair warning: we talk quite a bit about cryptocurrencies and especially Steem and the Steemit platform, as that is where Ben is focused at the moment.

Games:

Overwatch

Paladins

World of Warcraft

Magic the Gathering

Links:

Alterac Valley in World of Warcraft

Penny Arcade: First impression of Battlegrounds

Infected Mushroom

Steemit

DTube

Dlive

Steepshot

Steem is handling more than half of all blockchain transactions

Crowdfire


Player Characters Podcast

Don't forget to follow, resteem and browse my channel for more podcast episodes and more gaming content!

@GamersUnited is a brand new SteemIt curation group for everything gaming! Join our Discord channel and use #GamersUnited in your posts for a chance to be featured in our daily digest/curation posts!

Already a member, or simply want to help us grow so we can reward our members even more?
Please consider delegating SP to our cause:
25SP,50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP
Want to delegate more? Contact @GetSlothyy if you have or need help!

Sort:  

That's fantastic podcast :D I'm suprised of that xD I didn't know about Slotthy being in this :D

Thank you!

But how would you know?
He's only in this episode :-)

I really like the insights I got from this. I like to listen to podcasts anyway. I was taken back to my childhood, playing Super Mario bros with my dad.

I was lost in World of Warcraft too, for about 8 years. I don't regret the memorys I have from this time, I only regret that i had neglected my friends for a while. This was the reason why i quit and became very carefull when i start an MMORPG.

Thank you, that's the reason why I'm doing this.
Of course I think you should go back and listen to the other episodes :-D

I love how Ben expresses himself. He's like a big ball of knowledge who happens to be very friendly. I always learn something new when I engage with him. I'm very interested in growing my own brand and expand who I am and what I want to do, so he's really helped me out. Loved the podcast, looking forward for the next one!

Thank you very much!
And thank you to @getslothyy for the guest appearance :-D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63122.36
ETH 3072.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86