Career skills and Gaming

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

Positive effects of Gaming on a cognitive and psychological level - Part 1 development of Career skills

()

I feel there is a bias among media of all kinds that display gaming in a negative light, from the obvious blaming of violent acts on video games dating all the way back to columbine tragedy to more subtle associations with laziness lack of social skills and general ineptitude. This strikes me as unfair and untrue. so in the hope of writing something that may be a refreshing change of pace to those that play games and already at least deep down know what i'm writing about, and eye opening for those that don't I am creating this series.

The prevalence of Gamers in IT related fields is a well known stereotype with a lot of truth to it. Most people attribute this to both IT and gaming being typically "nerdy" interests, this is not an entirely unfair statement to make. For many Gamers particularly PC Gamers an interest in gaming naturally necessitates dealing with computer issues. and an interest in IT naturally leads to increased exposure to gaming culture and news.

This goes a long way to explain the correlation between gaming and IT but I do not think it represents the whole picture.
In my opinion a large part of why there are so many Gamers in IT is that playing video games makes you better at the job!

To explain, IT is at its core a combination of customer service and problem solving now I wont try and claim that gaming is going to do much to improve someone's customer service ability however I would argue that it does wonders for an individuals problem solving skills.

I feel this would be almost self-evident to anyone that plays games regularly but may seem like a somewhat alien concept to those that don't.
I say this because all games are if you break it down enough basically a series of problems to be solved. How do I make this jump? how do I dodge this attack? whats the answer to this puzzle? where do I go next?

Gamers are constantly presented with challenges to overcome and we enjoy it! overtime this tends to breed a mentality of relishing challenges and puzzles to solve and the thought processes required to achieve this. This mentality and skill set is incredibly useful for a career in IT and not just IT, the ability to confidently approach a problem you have no idea how to solve is valuable for anyone and Gaming is one of the best ways to develop this.

Thanks for reading

Alt text

If this post is older than 7 days, please support by upvoting my latest post upvotelatest post view latest post

Sort:  

Great article, I'm glad to see positive things about gaming. This must mean you are also a gamer. If so what games would you recommend? I will use this article as inspiration to play more, only for the sake of problem solving.

thanks I definitely plan on writing a few more things along these lines as I think there are many other benefits to gaming I have not yet covered as well.

as for games I recommend I think some of the best examples for teaching problem solving would be the souls series, legend of zelda series, RTS's like command and conquer or starcraft. at the end of the day though as I said in the article ANY game is going to improve these things one way or another.

I will be looking forward to more articles from you on the benefits of games.

thank you for your recommendations of games. Im just getting tired of playing first person shooters.

True true

Read a bit about this before.

I also read an article about how the sex life abd performance of gamer vs non-gamers in a pretty big control group (couple thousen couples) showed that gamers is a bit better at sex because they have the mental-picture of how they resolve problems (orgasms) in different styles to get to the goal.

So many positiv thing about being a gamer.

interesting! I will have to do some research on that

Gaming is psychologically a driver for widening the skill of proble-solving. Not only this, one learns to be persevere and strong-minded by some games. As a result, my recommendation is that games and its abilities to come about those points earlier mentioned depend on what and which game one plays. Educative games are like lessons, I like them.

I agree you will without doubt develop different techniques depending on which games you are playing. but I think you pretty much cant go wrong. any game is going to teach you something.

Congratulations @feralblowfish! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94