My (Small) Video Game Art Book Collection

in #gaming7 years ago

I've always had a love for both art and video games and find these kinds of things very fascinating and informational. There is a small part of me that wished I pursued more of an art career so I could have maybe got in to this industry, but that's alright!

This a large portion of my slowly growing collection, with just a few images of the pages of each. If you like what you see I urge you to go out and make the purchase, they really are splendid and these pictures do not do them justice. The artists that make these are outstanding professionals and a lot of whats in these books, I would consider frame worthy. I've included a link to each book's amazon page so if you are interested, have a click. There is a lot of games that have very nice art books though, so go out and see if your favorites have one!

(open the images in a new window/tab to view them larger!)
(also, sorry if the quality isn't that great, they are cell phone pictures)


Assassin's Creed: The Complete Visual History

Amazon

Of all the Assassin's Creed books I have, this is by far the best one. It has the most and the largest images compared to the other AC artbooks, and it goes through each of the games individually.


The Art of Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag

Amazon

Lots of ship images, but I was really hoping for some detailed schematic like drawings. But still a great book!


The Art of Assassin's Creed: Unity

Amazon

A lot of really great interior/ architecture images, unfortunately much of it is very dark and depressing, which I don't think is as apparent in the actual game.


The Art of Destiny

Amazon

Some good character design and a few pages of logos and emblems used in game. Also of all my artbooks this one feels the best physically. The paper is a good texture and the images are super crisp.


The Art of Total War: From the Samurai of Japan to the Legions of the North

Amazon

Beautiful landscape paintings of course, but a lot of the images are also very small which is super disappointing. Also quite a few 3d renders shown in this book which is nice.


The Art of The Last of Us

Amazon

Whole lot of character design in this one. Most of the other images are also very theatrical and intended to tell a story by themselves.


The Art of Battlefield 1

Amazon

Many of the paintings included in this book are very much movie poster style which is really nice, they are really well done. Also a lot of action images, which is great for a war game.


The Art of Alice: Madness Returns

Amazon

Very abstract and grotesque like the game. I'll be honest, I didn't really play this game, my wife did. But I did watch her play a bit of it and she bought this artbook and it is really interesting. If your in to this kind of art style, it has a lot of inspirational images.


Thanks for having a look!

As I collect more I may make another similar post to show off some of my new finds!
So follow and upvote so you don't miss out!


Sort:  

That is quite the collection you have. I love it. Very high quality illustrations !

Beautifu artbooks...

Thanks for sharing this. I always enjoy reading posts where people share their artwork as well as seeing the progress from start to finished product. @ericrumor

I really like the Persona 5 and FFXV artbook that came with the nicest editions of the games lately. Persona 5 especially. That game absolutely slayed in the style department. I've never seen a game so well manicured. A true masterpiece.

Next time I'm over there you gotta show em to me. I'd love to check it out. It's also nice artbooks and soundtracks are becoming more common in the collectors editions and stuff of games. Id take some art prints or something over some crappy digital bonus

I've not played persona 5 but it does have a very particular art style. The game seems to have been great overall so I'm not surprised it would be so well done artistically.

I look forward to seeing it anyway

Oh, man @ericrumor! This makes every nerd cell in my body sing! Thanks for sharing. I'm a huge MTG enthusiast and they have a few art books from recent sets. Also, incredible. You may want to add one or two.

Oh gosh. Honestly I've never thought about that but it makes total sense they would have done artbooks. I'll definitely look in to it, I don't doubt they would be inspiring

I want that Alice: Madness book. The game was bordering on being art itself in design.

Definitely. It doesn't look like they spared any expense for design. Even the cutscenes had a particular look to them that I enjoyed. So much attention to detail

Pretty cool. Would pribably be oretty valuable if they were signed by the developera as well.

I would love to get that done. I'd be happy with even a signed poster from the art team behind a title. Maybe one day!

Congratulations @ericrumor! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi true steemit friends wherever located. I have seen your blog and it is very interesting, my goal is to have more friends who can help each other. Because I'm new in steemit. Please enlighten and input for steemit progress. Thanks vote, follow & resteem me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62