We can be heroes just for one day, even for more than that, possibly...

in #gaming6 years ago

Opinions - we all have them, I have a lot of them and we do not always agree, which is all right when we don't see eye-to-eye with each other, because we're big boys/gals and our feelings getting hurt isn't the end of the world. What is nice however is when we can all agree on something, so I'm hoping to achieve that with what you will see here.

A small addition to what you will read next, it would be amazing if you could share your thoughts on anything I will mention below as the biggest praise for me would be if we all could have a good discussion about something we like!

Capture.JPG

The below will not actually be about Bowie's "Heroes", yet about heroes still. I am going to have a go at one of my favorite gaming series, which is (as you may have guessed by now) Heroes of Might and Magic. Reason being that even though it is quite old by now and in a lot of aspects overshadowed by new titles, HOMM games just never get old! The formula still works exactly as expected to this day, I still play these games with my friends and I would be happy if after reading this you would pick up your favorite HOMM game, get some friends over and pull an all-nighter! As well as that we can try to understand what exactly makes this series a timeless piece of gaming history.

The first thing I am going to talk about is neither "Heroes of Might and Magic" nor even "King's Bounty", but a short intro to for the man behind it.

Jon_Van_Caneghem.jpg

Jon Van Caneghem - the creator of the "Might and Magic" game series. In 1984 along with his wife, Jon started new World Computing and soon after that (in 86) the company released "Might and Magic Book One: The Secret of the Inner Sanctum". In the meanwhile Van Caneghem was working on a new games "Kind's Bounty" which is the ancestor of the HOMM series and that is exactly what I am going to stop on. I might cover Jon's later work in some of my future posts.

 

 

 

King's Bounty

Already adopting the same concept you will see in later games, King's Bounty gives you control of a hero and his army on a quest to find an artifact, "Sceptre of Order".
I will not got that deep into the story, I think it's much more fun to make it visual - for you to see how the game looked like and maybe even compare it with newer ones.

I will be putting side by side comparisons with the first HOMM game.
First off - movement. The map itself and the way you move is presented in a way that can be seen in future HOMM games.
Compare.jpg

However Individual enemy units, unlike in the next HOMM games, are able to wander around the map on their own.

Combat is also done in a similar turn-based manner using stacked units.

Compare2.jpg

The game later got a MegaDrive/Genesis port which also had some significant gameplay changes to fit console gameplay, with the main one being a move from a turn-based concept to real-time. Making the game considerably harder as enemy armies now were able to engage the hero on their own, where in the PC version you could evade those encounters where needed.

King's Bounty as stated by Van Caneghem himself is the inspiration behind the later series and is often included in various HOMM anthologies. The 2001 PlayStation 2 title Heroes of Might and Magic: Quest for the Dragon Bone Staff is an enhanced remake of King's Bounty made by 3DO.

A small side note, in 2007 a Russian game publisher 1C purchased the rights to the King's Bounty franchise and attached the name to a game which was in development by Katauri Interactive, calling it King's Bounty: The Legend. Prior the name change the game was supposed to be called Battle Lord.

That's about it for King's Bounty, it is a significant step away from my other posts, but as I truly love the series I would like to make a number of more detailed and informative, comparison posts about HOMM games, so I you fancy this, please stay tuned.

And don't forget to check out the super long gameplay!

Sort:  

Oh man, Heroes of Might & Magic. I never got into these because I suck at strategy titles, but I could watch friends play for hours and not get bored. I've got a copy of King's Bounty that I'm pretty sure I've never put into my system...maybe I should fix that this weekend. :)

I wish I could say the same thing, as if you haven't been into the HOMM series yet - you still have a whole planet to discover, I urge you to do so! :)
Especially if you have some friends and some spare time to have a few games together, that's awesome!

I love HOMM 1 & 2. Why don't they make games like those anymore? :( I think the gameplay and the campaign progression would still be fun even today. Maybe with a just bit modern UI :)

I haven't played much HOMM 1 myself actually but HOMM 2 is solid for sure, although my favorite one is predictably HOMM 3 for a number of reasons

Oh, I made a mistake, what I loved was HOMM 2 & 3. Been a long time since I played it, maybe over 12 yrs ago.

I tried playing the recent HOMM 4,5,6 but I feel the campaigns and gameplay are more fun on 2 & 3.

I rented the genesis port when i was a kid. It was so ugly i expected basically nothing from it, but the gameplay was so amazing i kept it over an extra week then didn't go back to that blockbusters for a long time, heh.

The main thing I notice about those screenshots is that they plainly used the same distinctive font from the M&M games.

Hi emtecks,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Surprisingly upbeat soundtrack!

Congratulations @emtecks! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63211.44
ETH 2631.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71