Garage DYI with my Boys - Part 2

in #gaming7 years ago


Continuing my post from Garage DIY with my Boys - Part 1


I got my boys together in the van and headed on down to Home Depot to pick up the 2x4's and the 4x4 I would need to finish my workbench. Now any parent can tell you when your out numbered 3:1 you gotta use every trick in the book to get out of a store with the least amount of chaos. I find bargaining works well in this situation. I am a believer in peaceful parenting so I make sure to negotiate with my kids their reward for good behavior before we are in the store. If I wait til we are inside it is too late and I'm running in three different directions at once.

The first stop was the returns counter. I was trying to do this project as cheap as possible. During my clean up of the garage I had found some odds n ends like a PVC elbow, Wire nuts, a role of 14-2 wire I had bought but didn't use. They took everything back with out to much hassle.

The returns completed, lumber bought and a quick stop by Sonic for  drinks as the reward for the boys good behavior. 

The garage floor is not level so this presented a challenge to make sure the bench was level. Thankfully I have good help.

I started out by cutting the 2x4 pieces that would support the back . The area I was working in was roughly 32" wide and 72" long. I used a stud finder and marked where I should fasten those pieces with three inch wood screws.

Then I used the 4x4x8 and cut them to length. I am a tall guy and a finished height of a normal work bench is around 32"-36". I want something a little taller so my finished height will be around 40".


By the time I finished the frame of the bench it was getting late and the mosquito were out in full force. I called it a night.


Sort:  

Keep them boys busy! I remember pounding old nails straight for my dad when he was building things. I'd take the rusty old nails from one old metal coffee can, pound it flat on a brick, then transfer to another old metal coffee can!

Hey my Dad had me doing that too lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71067.77
ETH 3831.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44