Journey from Duo Game Development to Game Studio #1

in #gaming7 years ago

background-1.jpg

Hi Guys,

I thought I'd start doing a series regarding game development and the gaming industry from a developers point of view.

Let me start this series by letting you guys know a bit about me and my colleague.
We are a team of two developers (i'm more oriented towards the engine / programming side and he is focused on 3d modelling). We know each other from university, which I personally enrolled since i thought that the courses will be more focused on the programming part, but I found out too late that it Computer Science was not what I thought it will be.
Unfortunately, I kept saying to myself that the courses will get better over the next year, but nope, they did not. Anyway, long story short, I studied lots of math and courses i did not like for 4 years and eventually got my degree.

As far as the masters degree, I chose better, by taking the time to check what courses I will take each year. So I ended up graduating from a renowned Romanian University, after studying Interactive Multimedia for two years. Compared to the previous 4 years, Interactive Multimedia thought me a lot more in the direction I was aiming to build my career in.

As a game developer background, we don't have much to show, but some flopped projects, mostly developed for studying and gaining experience with new and more complex game engines such as ( Unreal Engine and Unity ).

At the moment we are currently working on a 3D first person shooter that we aim to release in 2018. We are focusing on developing a multiplayer gameplay mode for the game too, but we will come back to that in the future posts.

I hope this series of posts will be followed and I will continue sharing with you our development progress, ideas, thoughts, drawbacks, obstacles and pretty much everything that we do, development wise.

PS: The image in the article is a teaser from the game we are currently working on. :)
If you have any questions, feel free to ask them in the comment section, I will gladly respond to everyone.

Keep it up Steemit community!

Sort:  

Glad you're doing this. I'm gonna need some inspiration for my Unity Game Development unit in my last year of University.

I`ll be more than glad to help you with whatever I can :)

Welcome to Steemit!

Thanks. Been here for a while, just never started posting. Will keep doing it in the future for sure :) It is fun.

hi! i am new too, follow me and i will follow you! :)

Welcome. I did. Enjoy your stay at Steemit.

I would be interested to see more screenshots of gameplay moments.

Such indie projects always make me a bit skeptical and at the same time hopeful that the game industry can get a second wind. I think that the current nft game developers can give something completely new. The kind of experience that wasn't there before can really change things. We'll see how it develops in the future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58644.49
ETH 2625.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38