My top 10 RPG type games !

in #gaming7 years ago

*Hey guys ! Sorry I haven't been posting as of late been dealing with a lot of crap at home , but it's all good now and I'll be posting a lot more now.*


So if yall know me, you know one of my  favorite game genres are RPGs. (for those who may not know I am talking about role playing games.)  i like all kinds , from action rpgs, adventure rpgs. isometric, mmos, to tabletop. So this list is not anything official or whatever , it's just my personal top 10.

10.) Kingdom Come: Deliverance 

The reason that this game is at 10 and not higher is because it's still in alpha , and they still have time to let us down. Though from what I've played of the alpha it seems they may live up to our expectations come the beginning of next year.

This game has no magic or monsters . It's historically accurate, telling the story of the war in Bohemia(now making up most of the czech republic) with Hungary in 1403. you literally start out at the bottom as a blacksmith's son not even knowing how to be a warrior when your family is killed and you must move on. Speaking of historically accurate, the fighting in this game is pretty new, it's based off of real historical european sword fighting. There will also be historically accurate large battles and castle sieges !

you will be able to take on any quest you want at anytime you want and there are multiple ways to go about getting the quests finished. Ai is very complex in the game, each npc lives their little life and has their schedules they go to the bar and have a chat they wash their faces have dinner and work . If you are to commit a crime an npc may report you and that will affect your reputation which is very important to how npcs react to you and the economy of the game . This game is extremely open and from what I've seen  when this game comes out , a lot of people won't be leaving their houses for a while !

9.) Dragon Age( All Games)

This game gave me a much entertainment about a year and a half ago when i broke my ankle and couldn't really get around or work for over a month . I had this game and it took up a lot of my time. i played the first 2 a couple  times over at  that time. This games story and lore is kinda like a medieval fantasy mixed with an apocalyptic situation, which they delivered pretty well. Another thing i really loved was each person in your party has a story and you can learn about your comrades and your character can even develop relationships with them as you go. and the story changes to all the decisions you make in previous games . This game also has different gameplay  as each new game came out kind of morphing each time as new game came out as technology has advanced, so each game is a new thing to learn and a whole new experience. 


8.) Fallout

I remember the first time i played a fallout game, i played fallout 3, because my step brother bought it and let me play it when he went to bed one night and i ended up playing from  9pm until like 5am . It just sucked me in it was kinda the first time i played an open world game like that So I just couldn't stop until i realized it was super duper late lol since then I've played all the fallout games to some degree, even 1 and 2. i love all the side quests there are to do and the npcs you encounter everyone has a little story . The Vats system is a pretty unique system as well I don't use it alot but it's useful sometimes ! ^.^ another awesome thing about fallout is mods you could use mods to have a whole different experience or practically play a completely different game !

7.) Darkest Dungeon

Darkest Dungeon. You guys saw me play a bit of that. Its a fun fun game. i love the art style its so dark and creepy. the story is Dark and Lovecraftian . It is super hard but I think that's what makes it more fun in a way when your character diers they die forever and you have to hire someone who is less powerful you could lose your A Team in a manner of minutes.. and have to start over. Theres also a stress management system that I haven't seen in too many games that aren't like a survival horror game. Although this  game has a scary/creepy art style and story , Its not really a horror game , at least to me. Its a hard game , but the controls are easy its pretty much point and click if you want it to be, which gives it an addicting quality .

6.) Torchlight

Torchlight is an action RPG sorta like Diablo or Path of  Exile. If you love grinding and getting loot, you will love this game its a real time killer. You will start to play at 6pm and check your clock what feels like an hour later and it'll be 12am ! Its got a good challenge hike as well it goes pretty steady the whole game. there's tons of action and cool places to adventure through . the music in the game is also amazing ! This is also another very easy game to play I played it on the 360 so it may be a bit different than pc but it was super easy for me to play.

 

 

Here's the Torchlight soundtrack if you wanna listen.

5.) Vampire the Masquerades: Bloodlines


This game is some awesome old school pc action. I love the style of this game it's super gothic, and dingy and grungy , and you get to be a vampire what's not cool about that ? Theres also some pretty funny stuff hidden in all the dark and intense story ,  It's also a pretty challenging game I remember dying many many times playing this game. This is also another game where the music is awesome !


4.)The Witcher

The Witcher  is and amazing set of games I have played all 3 beginning to end. The Witcher's story is based off of pagan slavic folklore, which I find super interesting myself. The alchemy can be a little annoying to those who don't like crafting but i am cool with crafting so i liked it. I loved how  the whole game had a story to tell about Geralt and all his friends and it kept to the story through all 3 games so far. the monster missions are also a lot of fun and they almost have their own side stories in themselves. I also enjoyed how like Dragon Age all 3 games were a bit of a different experience from each other , although 2 and 3 are a bit similar 2 is much more linear than 3.

3.) Divinity: Original Sin

This game is probably one of my more recent favorites, I played this maybe last year or something like that, It is another one that took up a lot of my time. the story in this game is super open and there is a lot of stuff you can do this one is also a bit challenging because you need to save a lot if you accidentally come across a battle too high level for you or if you mess up a puzzle and it destroys you , you have to add saves into your tactics with this game. the story of this game is really good and it also has a lot of comic relief  one of your first encounters is with 2 drunk guards ! haha ! another cool feature of the game is the ability to play it in co-op with a friend. The puzzles in this game are some real brain teasers where you have to interact with your environment and the elements of the game. The visuals and graphics in this game are also pretty gorgeous as well and adds to the fun , its highly recommended by me !

2.)World of Warcraft

World of Warcraft is an mmorpg that started in 2004, and its extremely popular with many people in the world to this day. The lore in this game is pretty interesting to me, Its really one of the first mmos I ever heard about or watched anyone play. I love the cartoony style of the game and all the different areas you can discover. PvP for those who are interested is fun and it used to be more challenging but as time has gone on PvP is less popular. One of the best parts of the game is being able to interact with so many different people all around the world ! Its extremely interesting to find friends to play with and share your virtual adventures ! It also adds more fun to the game as you talk to your friends and socialize while playing.


1.) Dungeons and Dragons

Dungeons and Dragons isn't actually a video game, but i believe it deserves a spot on this list as it is still popular today, it was pretty much the OG multiplayer RPG. It is almost like a social event playing this game. You get together with your friends, get the snacks, drinks, etc. get your die, your pens, and paper, and go on an endless adventure. This game to me has only gotten better than time. and It is one of the best games because no amount of graphics or open world crap or gameplay on any video game will ever surpass the human imagination. and that is a wonderful thing. That is why this game is the # 1 RPG on my personal list ...

I hope you all enjoy my list , and let me know what you think. What are your favorite RPGS, and why? Do you like RPGS at all? Why or Why not? Anyways thanks for tuning in guys Peace and Love going y'alls way and take it easy !



Sort:  

I think my sons will be better on coment in this post :)

your sons like video games too? What do they play on? computer? i like computer the most, but i have played xbox and playstation before.

Computer and playstation :)

Second Edition AD&D was my thing, quite a while ago. And Elite... Currently playing Elite Dangerous, funnily enough, dunno if that qualifies as a MMORPG..? I've been playing my old AD&D characters with my kids, it's been great :)

Thats awesome ! i've never played elite myself, I will check it out !

Dragon age !!
The witcher ❣️
Fallout

🔝

My favorite RPG series is Dragon Age. I fell in love with the first one, because it was still a bit like Neverwinter Nights. I also liked the second game, eventhough many other people hated it. I was aware of its flaws, but managed to look past it. The third game was enjoyable and really expansive, but sadly, couldn't spark that love I had for the first one.
I also have all the books and comics of Dragon Age, even a lorebook. It's amazing how people can create worlds from scratch.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by SinneD from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

This post has received a 1.89 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @banjo.

And WoW 🔝👍

Well you've got half my list on there charline !!

I Forgot to Say WoWarcraft 😵

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61882.63
ETH 2581.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56