Fortnite to have a $100 MILLION prize pool for competitions

in #gaming6 years ago

You've read that right, Epic Games, the creators of Fortnite will be supplementing $100,000,000 for various Fortnite competitions, tournaments, and possibly a league. There have been very little details given by Epic Games on what is to be expected in the future, but they have confirmed that in the 2018-2019 season, there will be $100 million dollars up for grabs in prize pools.

fortnite-hero - edited.jpg

This is an insane amount of money, and towers over the prize pools of any other game currently. Here is a list of the next 18 top prize pools for games.
list.png

Whether or not you like Fortnite, this is history in the making and a very bright day for esports in general. However, the only problem I see with this is the viewing pleasure of battle royale games in general. There are a lot of details to figure out such as the mode of the competitive scene, rules, regulations, etc.

Another problem I see with this from a competitive standpoint is how Fortnite has an element of RNG. Even though I'm average at the game, I could theoretically kill the best players in the game if I lucky enough to get a good spawn. If Ninja and I had landed in the same house, and I happened to loot a chest and got a shotgun, and he got building supplies, I would kill him. Even though Ninja's skill far surpasses me, I could technically beat him.

What are your thoughts about this? I think that other esports leagues and games should follow in the steps of Fortnite. Having a bigger prize pool attracts more people to play your game. It also boosts viewership of your game.

Please comment, I reply to them all! I'm very interested in your thoughts.

Sort:  

Congratulations @deathlyr! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61451.56
ETH 3442.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51