Opening up 4 packs of Pokemon cards for Steemit! (Possible new series?)

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

Decided I wanted to try something new on here with my gaming content and figured maybe some of you would enjoy this. I stopped by the local Gamestop and grabbed myself 4 packs of Pokemon Sun and Moon Burning Shadows packs and figured I would take pictures while opening them so you guys could see exactly what I actually got out of the packs of cards. I think the next time I do this I'll probably buy a tripod for my phone or something and maybe record myself doing it in real time to post for you guys. We'll see though, as this was really impromptu and I just decided to do this out of the blue last night. 

Before we get into the actual packs, I also received a little pack of promo cards for buying the booster packs which I wasn't expecting. I'm not sure if it's just Gamestop doing it or if other stores are doing it, but apparently if you buy a couple of booster packs you'll get these promos that are out promoting the newest Pokemon movie (Known as Pokemon the Movie: I Choose You!). I can't really say that I'm all that interested in watching it, as it's gotten fairly bad reviews all around from both critics and movie goers, but I do appreciate getting some free promo cards which are pretty cool! 

So, here's the little pack of promo cards that I got. You get 3 Pokemon cards and then 2 other little pieces of paper, one promoting the movie with a merchandise link on the back where you can go buy random Pokemon themed items for a fortune, and the other being a little pamphlet. I chose not to include those 2 pieces of paper as I didn't figure most of you would care about it. 

And, here's the cute little promo cards! Each of them features Ash's Pikachu wearing his hat in various poses with different colored backgrounds. You'll notice that each card has the I Choose You title in the bottom right corner, and they number SM111 to SM113. While not the coolest promo cards that I've ever seen, I have to say that I really like these a lot. Though, I might be a bit biased as I'm a big fan of Pikachu. 

I did find it pretty interesting that each promo card has its own set of attacks. I've seen sets of promo cards before like this and they usually tend to just have the same set of attacks while just changing the artwork. I'm not sure about the rules of using promo cards in actual play during a card battle, but I imagine if you can it would be nice having 3 different sets of attacks to choose from. 

And, here's a close up of the final promo card. The only way I would have liked these promos better is if they were holographic, which I was kind of surprised they weren't, to be honest. Either way though, I really like them and I'm sure most people who are a fan of Pikachu will as well. So, now that we're over the promo cards, lets get into the first pack of Burning Shadows that I opened for you guys. 

Here are our basic common and uncommon cards, if you were unaware of how to tell a cards rarity all you have to do is look at the bottom left corner and look at the symbol there as well as the section next to that where it tells you which number card it is out of the set. A circle symbol means it is a common, where as a diamond symbol means it is an uncommon. There is also a star symbol which indicates that a card is rare, though this doesn't always mean you'll get a holographic card. Ultra Rare and Secret Rare cards all have their own unique symbol as well which makes it pretty easy to tell what you've got. Anyways, here was the reverse holographic and rare we got out of this pack. 

As you can see, we got absolute crap out of this pack. We got a transvestite fish known as Bruxish, and a dirty rat fish which is the bane of my existance within the Pokemon universe known as Magikarp. (Seriously, I spent so long trying to get a shiny Gyarados and I've become fed up with Magikarp at this point.) Okay, no biggie! Lets go to the next pack and see how I fared with that. 

Here's what we got for the common/uncommon cards. Thought it was a bit funny how many trainer cards I got out of this pack, though that's not anything too special with packs these days. So, how did we do with the rare of this set? 

Pretty god damn good I would say, boys! I ended up pulling a freaking awesome Charizard GX alongside the reverse holo. Probably one of my favorite cards that I own, and not just because I'm your typical Pokemon fan that chooses Charizard as their favorite pocket monster. Value wise this isn't a bad card either, as it is valued right around $9-11 from what I can tell online. So, 2 of my packs were basically paid for with this card alone being pulled. I was already super happy and satisfied with this, but lets get into the other 2 packs and see what we got there. 

Here is our common/uncommon cards, what did we get for the reverse holo and rare?

This time around we got absolute jack. Can't expect to pull a rad GX from every pack of cards though, and I'm already happy with the Charizard I pulled previously. Lets crack open the final pack as I'm starting to wonder if anyone even has any interest left in my post at this point. 

Our final packs common and uncommon cards, what did this last pack bring us for the rare and the reverse holographic? 

We actually pulled a pretty nice little holographic Rhyperior! Getting a holographic out of this last pack went beyond my expectations, as I really thought we'd probably just get another pack of absolute nothing after pulling that GX earlier. Overall, I was more than happy with what we got out of these 4 packs of cards and if there's any actual interest in doing this maybe I'll do another 4-5 packs at some point in the near future. I know this is a bit different than my typical gaming content, but I really wanted to try something different and see how it went. 

Hopefully you guys have enjoyed it, and if you have any suggestions on how to make this better the next time I do it feel free to leave them below! Thank you for checking out the post and stopping by, I really appreciate it :) (I'll have a gaming review up tomorrow, as I was running a bit short today on time and just couldn't swing getting one out, which led to me wanting to share this post today instead of saving it for a rainy day.)

Sort:  

Great cards, I wish I hadn't of disposed of my collection from when I was a child.

Sick Charizard pull! I have a similar blog but I film and edit, I love this blog style of it good stuff!

Woww..keren..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63313.88
ETH 2629.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76