One of my favorite/oddest pieces of gaming artwork that I own. My hand painted Vault Boy Converse.

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

As you can probably guess from my title, this is probably the most unconventional piece of artwork that I've come to own, considering that they go onto my feet and I wear them around outside. They are, however, definitely one of my favorite pieces as they're so strange and unique I can't help but love them. Plus, you know, I am a whore for anything and everything from the Fallout universe. I got these as a birthday gift about 2 years ago now, if I recall correctly, and they've been probably one of the best gifts I've ever received for a holiday. 

Now, I'll be honest and say that I have babied these things quite a bit, though I've seen others with shoes from the same maker that used them quite often and they hold up extremely well. Part of it is probably how much these kicks cost, as I know they range from around $130-145 which is fairly pricey for a pair of shoes. The other part is that I just love the theme and artwork so much that I'd probably be pretty sad should anything happen to them, and a lot of the weather in my area leaves much to be desired so I often only wear these guys out maybe once or twice a month. 

These shoes are centered around the Vault Boy and Vault 101 which stems from the game Fallout 3 in particular. We made sure the shoes matched the color scheme of the Vault Boy and Vault-Tec, though that required a lot of hardwork not only with the maker painting the shoes, but me having to search around like crazy for the right pair of shoestrings as apparently mustard yellow isn't a popular color. Who would have guessed that? Cmon, don't all the kids these days love mustard? 

I'm not quite sure how many hours went into making these shoes, though I know it had to be a fairly big chunk of hours after talking with the maker, who'm is one of the nicest and sweetest people I've talked with on Instagram. She has an Etsy shop as well called HillsHeels, and you can find her on both platforms if you're interested in ordering a pair of shoes from her. I'm actually considering ordering another pair myself sometime soon, as I could always use some more strange artwork for my collection :) 

I believe that the paint used for these shoes is some type of acrylic paint which was then sealed using some weather proof paint sealer, though I could be wrong on that as it has been a long time since I've asked the maker about these shoes. I do know that they've held up quite well so far, and that I'm pretty damn happy with these shoes. 

One thing that I really like about the design of the shoes is that one shoe compliments the other quite well, as one of them is based solely around the Vault-Tec design, while the other is more based on the Vault Boy. Probably has to do with the themes matching extremely well and being one and the same almost, which makes it easy for them to match and compliment one another. 

But one of the best things about these shoes, is no doubt the fact that they're littered with radioactive isotopes. I can feel the RAD's just *coursing* through my body. And, by that, I mean they glow in the dark :)

So, I hope you guys have enjoyed checking out probably one of the weirdest pieces of artwork that I'll ever own. I can't help but show my love of the Fallout series, as it has become a big part of my life and probably will always be one of my all time favorite video game series to be around. If you're interested in shoes like these or any kind of custom shoe, make sure to hit up the maker that I mentioned on either Etsy or Instagram and she will certainly hook you up! 

Thanks for stopping by! Hope you've enjoyed it :) 

Sort:  

i think are really loving to watch to old memories reminders old is gold :)

I LOVE Fallout 3! What an amazing tribute to this stunning game and how brilliant they glow in the dark! Gives you this little extra portion of Fallout and radiation feeling! I truely believe you are a proud owner of these special shoes! Bethesda would be proud, too! :D <3

Ohh my lord can I have those.
I would never ware those and just put them in a glass case. That will be rare in a couple of years...

These are pretty awesome, I like the idea of artwork for shoes. I could never do It myself but I would pay a decent price for some.

Wow! Love the Fallout franchise and these are too cool. The glow in the dark effect blew me away.

Those are really fun! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63651.41
ETH 2679.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80