You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tom Clancy's The Division Review

in #gaming7 years ago

I bought the game when it first came out. I loved the atmosphere, the story, and the concept, but there were so many bugs and so many balance issues. I wanted to love the game when it first came out, but it was so hard to do so. The Dark Zone was full of griefers, players who spent waaay too much time grinding up the gear necessary, and wall hackers who could one shot you from across the map. The grind for gear to have a snowball's chance in hell of clearing the first instance with the APC (Can't remember the name to save my life) was incredibly steep. You couldn't get the gear to take it on without getting a group to carry you through it. So like many people, I uninstalled the game and wrote it off as another failed ubisoft game.

Thankfully, I was proven wrong. I ran across a video from SkillUp on Youtube talking about how the game has improved and fixed so many of the problems that have plagued it. I know SkillUp is passionate about the game, but fairly critical of the game. So when he says something is fixed, I believe him. On a whim, I reinstalled it.

Holy crap, the game is a different animal! I love that it's fixed so many of the problems that plagued it. I just wish there were more people playing online with any semblance of regularity. Without a party to work with, the game falters hard.

Sort:  

I had the same experience at launch. Now after reading this review and your comment, I'm installing the game again. Damn you! :-D

The world tier upgrade definitely helped. I'm having a much easier time getting gear appropriate with the grind. The classified set rework completely redid the banshee set (F) but made a lot of the earlier problems not nearly as troublesome as they were. It's still best to stack Firearms or Electronics, depending on your build and not go for the even spread, and I was able to FINALLY get some decent weapons. Thank god!

And there's still people willing to play underground missions, so you can grind through that with a party with some semblance of decency.

I'm on PC, btw. You?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62863.58
ETH 2464.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62