GAME SINS | Everything Wrong With Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance

in #gaming7 years ago


Hello Steemit friends. Yesterday I completed the latest video in my Game Sins series. The viewers chose between two games: Resident Evil 5 and Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance. The overwhelming choice was Metal Gear Rising, a game I have wanted to play and make a video on for some time.

One misconception my videos often create is that I hate the games I'm reviewing - that nothing impresses me, that everything is terrible and no one should enjoy these games. Nothing could be further from the truth. In fact, the vast majority of the games I've reviewed for the series are games I have enjoyed. I rarely cover games that have no redeeming content. Even when I do review a game I didn't personally like, I don't allow that to influence the video I make on it. During production I approach it with the same care I give to the ones I enjoyed. 

My comedy comes from a positive place. The more I enjoy a game - the more fun I have during my time with it, always translates into a much better written video. If I approach making a video with the intent of making my hate for it clear and letting that drive the video's content, it makes for a far less entertaining video. (see Everything Wrong With Spec Ops: The Line for an example)

Sin videos are a fun way of critically looking at something you enjoyed. Everyone's favorite movie or game has blemishes that we often willingly overlook. A sin video is simply taking off the rose colored glasses and seeing this piece of entertainment you love, warts and all. Knowing the mistakes it made, intentionally and unintentionally,  that you didn't notice before doesn't detract from your past enjoyment of the game. 

Metal Gear Rising is a game I enjoyed greatly. And finding all of the errors it made only made me like the game even more. Knowing something's mistakes only gives you greater appreciation for it's triumphs.

With all of that being said, please enjoy Everything Wrong With Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance.

If you liked this video you can find more just like it here: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCPu3cxcupXWFguxQyFb-bsw

Sort:  

Hey Dartigan,

Nice to see you post again in steemit :) Keep them coming man!

Will do. I'm sticking with it since I think Steemit could become very important for content creators in the future. I plan to post more than just video stuff soon too. Guides on how to grow on youtube and twitch for instance.

The whole game was a mistake. It's fun for many people, but boy this ain't a meta gear game!

Well, I would agree that it isn't a stealth action game like the previous Metal Gears. This is a spin off and was never intended to be a stealth game. The only Metal Gear game I enjoyed more than Rising was Metal Gear Solid 3. The gameplay in Rising is so well crafted that I can't think of a single other action games that does it better.

I am not saying it's a bad game, as I said many people loved it for it's gameplay, but I hated it's story. It's not made by Kojima and should have been a different game in a different universe. For me it will never be a MG game and even though i like Raiden!

I can understand that. There were a lot of others who felt the same way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58495.34
ETH 2300.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47