My day playing Pokemon Go during the Equinox eventsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

I've been playing Pokemon Go since near the launch last year, with a few lapses. I've been a fan of walking for exercise for a long time, and it helps keep me motivated when I have destinations in mind. Pokemon Go helps me with that, even though the pokestops and gyms are purely virtual they give me a reason to head to particular places. The game is currently running the Equinox Event where you can get some extra bonuses beyond the normal gameplay, today was the first full day. Things started auspiciously for me because the first thing that happened when I started Pokemon Go this morning was to spot a high-level Lanturn which turned out to have very good IVs, which is something I've been trying to snag for a while. I also got lucky in the timing of this event since I had been saving up pokecoins from gym defense in order to get some lucky eggs for my next mass-evolve, and by tomorrow I should have enough to afford one of the special boxes.

StoreTriptych.png

I decided to take my “long walk” route from my apartment in west Eugene down to some parks that I like by the Willamette river, the Maurie Jacobs Park and the Owen Rose Garden. My original plan had been to take the most direct route possible, but I took a brief detour to a supermarket for a restroom break and to pick up a jalapeño and cheddar bagel. I like these parks and the paths near them because they're pleasant to look at, not crowded during the times when I like to take my walks, and tend to spawn some nice water-type pokemon (like this Dratini I caught this morning).
MaurieTriptych.png
(A bagel-included perspective from the pedestrian/bike bridge, some geese, and a Dratini)

I especially like the Owen Rose Garden because the flowers are nice to look at, and because I can walk a 5-minute circuit on the paths that includes 7 pokestops and a gym so it's really easy to get some steps in and grind items in a pleasant environment. Based on how many Electabuzz I encountered there this morning I'd say that's what's spawning in the nest right now.
OwenTriptych.png

I covered about 14 miles today, with the trip there and back and the walking I did while I was at the parks. That's pushing things beyond what I normally do, but I'm trying to push myself a little hard to get in better shape, and the mild shakeups that these events bring to Pokemon Go helps keep it fun for me.

Sort:  

Did you play Ingress before Go came out? (That's a hell of a walk!)

No, Pokemon Go is my first augmented reality game.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69420.12
ETH 3686.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.29