STEEM / DLive Is Filled With Normies

in #gaming6 years ago

Every time I look at the gaming tags, use search functions, and DLive streams, all I see are normie gamers. There's two people on this website that make consistent content that aren't normie gamers that I've found so far.
@schattenjaeger - Mega Man X Challenges
@thecastle - Game dev, classic FPS stuff

Why can't I find any more? Does anyone know of anyone that isn't just playing garbage battle royal meme shit or flavor of the month meme games that come out on PS4? What the hell?

I'd love to not have to self-vote so much (even though I do love the money ;3), but there's just nothing I can find on STEEM worth upvoting because it's all normie shit. I want speedruns, I want challenge runs, I want reviews of cool retro games, I want PS1, I want Doom, where can I find all this? Are there people posting things and not tagging them with anything? Help!

Sort:  

I'd say this is a widespread problem on Steemit in general. All the content is very safe and very general. Hardly anything grabs me.

I guess the money aspect causes it to a degree; people are scared of ruffling any feathers, so they just go with the safest option. The end result is the soul-crushingly boring "Hey, this is me and my boring life" type of blogging - something many of us came here to Steemit to escape from.

Not a lot of specific content that goes in-depth into anything, either. People are scared of doing anything niche because niche stuff likely won't make a lot of money here.

It's a shame.

Thanks for the mention!

There's nothing worse than people who upvote and interact exclusively due to expecting returns. Like this punk-ass "nice letter" guy, what are they trying to prove?

I try to make all my content as in depth as possible (Crypto videos especially) and it gets almost no attention or traction, and people will just post a picture of a graph and get like $100s. It's cringe. I'm mad!!! Grrrr

Same could be said about mainstream content on YouTube and stuff, too, though, it's not a central problem here, just exacerbated since the niche crowds haven't really arrived yet, so it's one dimensional.

I guess the money aspect causes it to a degree; people are scared of ruffling any feathers, so they just go with the safest option.

Its not just about being edgy. Its about people who do good content.

I share Cyberdemons opinion as well. There are very few actual content creators on steemit as it stands right now. And the few times one does show up they dont get the red carpet treatment they deserve.

Big time agree! I struggle to find a lot of content on STEEM that isn't ultra "normie" or just not personally interesting.
Like I get the feeling that I need more people to follow so I can get more posting/interaction going on, but it is hard to find a lot of stuff where I can leave a genuine productive comment.

Ye, exactly. Work in progress, so from an investor standpoint it's cool, but from a user standpoint it's still kinda shit for now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59426.36
ETH 2654.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43