You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Life is Strange, Episode 2: SAVE/LOAD/RESTART? Demiboy vs. Backlog, Game #5

in #gaming7 years ago

Honestly, I keep feeling I got lucky when I saved Kate. It's brutal to suddenly lose your powers, because save/reload is how you've been trained! Every decision becomes fraught with consequence because you've been given the freedom to explore consequences. (Though in this case, a lot of it seems to come down to how much investigation you did of Kate's room.)

One issue I had is that, at least for me, the scene had a split tone; they didn't quite set it up smoothly. As a result, I saw moments where Kate would careen from "yeah, I guess they do love me..." to "... but I can't live anymore!" in the span of a couple seconds. Seeing the seams like that was a little unfortunate.

Sort:  

Yeah, I've noticed the "seams" in places as well. It's to be expected in a game with so many different possible permutations between dialogue tree and past choices, and unfortunately a choice-heavy sequence like the Kate intervention will have the greatest stress put on it from that multiplicity.

It's definitely the sort of sequence I should go back and study, see if there were any ways it could have otherwise been handled. It's a sticky design challenge!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62881.38
ETH 2449.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62