You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My biggest pet peeves from each video game generation

in #gaming6 years ago

I've been playing games now for almost 30 years starting with the atari and nes. I played through all the different generations up till today and I find games are having diminishing returns on my own enjoyment. For the most part the average game that gets released now is 'better' in terms of experienced creators having played games their whole life too. But there were a lot of old games made by very dedicated programmers with a staff consisting of less than 10 people, who put they're whole heart into making the game. Now I see games made by hundreds of people (perhaps some have thousands), and while some are worth their merit, many are still disappointing unfinished heaps of trash.

I'm finding it hard to justify paying for the TripleA games ($40) when there are countless quality games being made for a fraction of that cost.

I tend to fall back on my old library of games rather than invest in newer things now, my favourite game Zelda 2 on the nes I still play and compete live on twitch regularly.

There are quality gem titles released for every generation... maybe except for cd-i that i still look for, but I have enough games to last me until the end of days.

Sort:  

Video games are following a similar model to films, with a focus on big budget, AAA spectacles that have very little originality. There's not many games on the PS4/XBox One that I'm disappointed that I'm missing out on because modern 'hardcore' games just don't appeal much to me anymore. As a lifelong Nintendo fan, I get my AAA fix from games like Zelda, Mario and whatever else they put out and as a parent of young children I honestly don't have time for any other modern consoles. The AAA games that have leaked onto the Switch are more than enough to keep me busy and satisfied.

As a collector, I will probably exit the modern game market once the industry shifts 100% to digital distribution, but I've got a huge number of games already and the thousands that have been released that I haven't played yet will keep me busy for decades.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69460.30
ETH 3372.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74