You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Virtual Reality Headsets: What are the Options? Which is Right For You?

in #gaming8 years ago

Thanks for this, it's really good to know what options are out there. PSVR is probably the only realistic option for me. I like the cheaper price and the fact that it doesn't have to plug into my computer. My 5 year old PC probably isn't powerful enough for the Rift, and having to plug the thing into so many ports every time I want to use it just seems painful. I'd rather enjoy VR from the comfort of my living room couch, which the PSVR would allow.

A couple questions for you:

  1. Are there any plans to develop some hardware on par with the quality of Rift / Vive that doesn't require a separate computer to function?

  2. If I went with the PSVR, would my game choices be more limited than Rift? Can the two play the same games or are they totally incompatible, each with their own game ecosystem?

Sort:  
  1. Besides mobile VR (like Samsung's Gear VR), Oculus and Google are both working on stand-alone units which use built-in Android computers with Tegra X1 or X2 graphics chips. I expect these stand-alone models will totally replace smartphone based VR in the long run.

  2. There's a lot of overlap in terms of their libraries actually. VR is a niche market right now so devs can't afford to publish on just one platform. There are a couple of timed exclusives for the Rift because Oculus paid off the devs, but there's also a lot of exclusives coming to PSVR that I wish I had access to. Rez VR, the new Psychonauts game, the new Resident Evil, etc.

Ooh, a VR Resident Evil would be amazing! That might be the clincher for me right there. And glad to hear more stand-alone options are coming; that's important for consumer friendliness and expanding beyond the hobbyist / hardcore gamer niche.

Here's a playthrough of the Resident Evil VR demo.

Oh wow, that is just all kinds of creepy. Horror games seem like a natural fit for VR!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62647.29
ETH 2439.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66