My Super Nintendo Collection

in #gaming6 years ago

The Super Nintendo was the second Console I ever owned. The console was released in September of 1990, but I only received one Christmas of 1994. Prior to this date, the only way I was able to play the Super Nintendo was to rent the console from a local video store along with a handful of games for 3 day increments.

The console has cracks on the front and back, and the origin of the damage is a television falling directly on the console on more then one occasion. In the 90's, I gamed so intensely that the TV fell off the stand, and TV's were heavy back then, so I consider that impressive.

The outer shell has yellowed just like all other consoles like it from that era, and although some consoles didn't yellow, those were kept away from light or heat or kids determined to make a console disgusting. It may look like its in rough shape, but it functions just as well as the day I got it, and the shear fact that it can survive a TV falling on it more then once proves that Nintendo products are built to last.

All the games I own were bought at the same time, and for some reason I never bought or was given new games. Because the internet wasn't around back then, I had no way to hear about new games, so the games I had were perfectly fine till the next console I owned. There was a rental store in the town I lived in, so I was able to play new releases, but I never owned them.

My Super Nintendo collection isn't big by any stretch, but the games I do own I would consider high quality. There were some garbage games that came out for the console, and I was never burdened to own them. Some of my games may be better then others, but I wouldn't consider any of them as "bad".

Mario Paint deserves a special shoutout as it was soo much more then a game. It allowed you to create music, draw, animate, and had mini-games that are still duplicated to this day. It was technically the first animation software I ever used, and alot of my music fundamentals were rooted in this game. A must have in my opinion.

Games List:

  • BlackThorn
  • NHL Stanley Cup
  • Donkey Kong Country
  • Earthworm Jim
  • Super Mario World
  • Super Gameboy
  • Mortal Kombat 3
  • Super R-Type
  • The incredible Crash Dummies
  • Starfox
  • F-Zero
  • Super Battletank
  • Follow me @cryptocreme if you haven't already. If you like this post and would like to see more more content like this, slam that upvote so I can share the wealth! I'll try to respond and upvote as many comments as I can.

Sort:  

Retro-gamer here. Still playing SNES classics through emulators.

Ah... This takes me back to a time where life was far more simple!

Thanks for sharing man.

They are all classics, but crash dummies is the turd in the corn flakes.

IT's amazing that these things still work after all of these years. Nice collection @cryptocreme, reminds me of my own sega genesis stash back in the day.

Earthworm Jim and Starfox were two of the games that I also had for this system back in the day.. I wonder if my parents still have my old system kicking around.

Oh and Super Mario World. Another good one. My mother used to get addicted to playing this game with me. LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39