Nintendo GameCube - A classic in my bedroom

in #gaming7 years ago

When it comes to gaming, a lot of my friends spend hours, effort and lots of money into the newest PlayStation, Computer with incredible hardware or just into the most wanted games from the market. I must admit, that I never owned a PlayStation in my life. Shame on me! But, to be honest, I never needed one either. The only gaming console (beside my average laptop to play stuff like solitaire or pinball) I ever owned and still do is the Nintendo GameCube. IMG_20170626_001747.jpg

Born in 1996, I experienced rise and fall of different gaming consoles. Once I was 7 years old, and in school everyone talked about the games the play at that time, I put a console on the wish list I sent to Santa that Christmas. And as we all know, Santa knows best and put that grey plastic cube under the Christmas tree. I was as happy as I could be, even though I have never heard of the game cube before. It came with two controllers and I still remember my dad and my staying up late for a couple of days to play the game, that came with the GameCube: Mario Kart Double Dash!
IMG_20170626_002243.jpg
IMG_20170626_002312.jpg

We invested lots of time and sweat into the fastest laps on all the tracks driving around as Peach, Bowser, Luigi or Mario himself. But when I bought another game, it became my new favourite immediately:
Need for Speed Underground 2

Who does not remember this freaking hot brown haired lady at the starting screen, telling you to always drive safely in real life?
IMG_20170626_001830.jpg

Like almost every bit of course I was interested in cool, fast cars and spent whole nights tuning the cars. I drove around in the career mode for hours and hours, just enjoying the ride without finishing any tasks! Sometimes I took a race just to have money to buy new parts for my car...
IMG_20170626_002102.jpg

The best 'gadget' I ever invested in was the small black box below the GameCube itself, it can be seen a little in this picture:
IMG_20170626_001747.jpg

This black thing was an adapter to plug in any gameboy game and play it in a giant way on a TV screen. Isn't that amazing?! You just take your Pokemon, your Super Mario, Crash Bandicoot game or whatever, that you played on your "Gameboy Color" on a screen with a size of two stamps and play it on a big screen just with plugging it into your GameCube. I was amazed, I was caught, I played on and on and on.

But, as the time went by, I lost my interest in gaming with the nintendo. As I grew older and girls became much more interesting, as I did much more sports and the homework for school became longer, I almost forgot about my GameCube in the closet. It stayed hidden and forgotten for several years, until I found it again about 18 months ago while cleaning my room. I just plugged it into my 42" LED TV, hoped for the best and started that cube (full of dust):
IMG_20170626_002205.jpg

After realizing it still worked I cleaned it a bit and sat there for hours and hours, playing Mario Cart and need for speed again, as if I have never stopped. Instead of studying, working or doing anything of that (semi-)adult stuff I had to do with the age of 19 years, I just sat there all though the night and played games with horrible graphic on a gaming console that worked louder than expensive vacuum cleaners do today. And now, whenever I need to recover and relax, whenever I need a break of being an adult, I just go back to choose Mario and Peach, a nice Cart and try not to fall down during that terrible rainbow track - and I can just feel like a Kid for as long as the GameCube stays plugged in - and I don't seem to have any duties, deadlines or tasks just as long as this small orange light on the Cube is shining...
IMG_20170626_001755.jpg

Sort:  

My father and neighbor play Mario Kart on this to this day :)

Great post ! Would you mind if I included it in todays "best of gaming"?

Thank you!

Nice to hear that this good, old device has not left every single home yet.

Of course not, I would be proud! :-)

was just talking about buying a gamecube. was considering picking up paper mario thousand year as well as mario sunshine. I've never played gamecube and read that both of those games are a lot of fun. We ended up, though, realizing that our Wii will play gamecube games lol so that's exciting. What other games do you recommend?

Interesting to hear of a person who wants to start playing GameCube in 2017!
Unfortunately I spent at least 80% of my gaming time on that console with Mario Kart as well as Need for Speed, so I just can't recommend any other game... I used to play "Finding Nemo" for some hours, but that is only fun for kids under the age of 12 I guess. Another alternative would be this adapter to play your old GameBoy games, there I would recommend the already mentioned games of Crash Bandicoot and almost every single Super Mario game!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58503.45
ETH 2594.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45