You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 6 Upcoming Video Games Movies

in #gaming7 years ago

A reboot for Tomb Raider would be cool. The Sonic movie sounds like it's going to be a kid's movie, though. And maybe that's a good thing. Sleeping Dogs is perfect for a movie adaptation and I'm all for it, even if I haven't played the game.

The rest, though... I'm not really feeling it. Rampage doesn't sound like a game that can be turned into a good movie. And I like The Rock in some roles, but he's not really a Class A actor. A Rampage movie won't need a Class A actor based on its concept, and that could be the nail in the coffin for it.
Minecraft could MAYBE work. As an animation (duh) for children, since a large portion of its fanbase are children or childish (not saying ALL of its fanbase).

And Five Nights at Freddy's..... shiver I'm not a fan of horror, but I can appreciate its concept. And Five Nights at Freddy's just doesn't do horror justice. It's based almost solely on jump scares (which is the worst form of horror). And the fact that its creator milked the living hell out of the franchise by making sequels, one worse than the other, feels like this movie will be another cashgrab for the creator and Warner Bros.

Sort:  

Great observation.
I'm still confused whether they would be good or not, but I agree if Tomb Raider and Sleeping Dogs are the most potentially good and looks more 'makes sense' to be made into movies. I can picture how they would be as movies. Rampage, the director said it would start from some kind of a lab accident that cause the animals to be mutated (typical accident plot), but the only thing I can imagine is the monsters destroying stuff to the end of the movie. And the rest... Uhh nope, I'm not sure about the rest either.
I didn't expect someone would think that Minecraft maybe could work lol, and yeah I think the main target audience would be children but also could be enjoyed by the young adults a bit, so is Sonic.

And thanks for your thought, @cleversleazoid, now I think I have a better perception on horror (games and movies).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59159.54
ETH 2599.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42