01/16/18 The Quickie: Dragon Quest Builders Demo reaction

in #gaming7 years ago

Hello Steemians! Welcome to the Quickie! With the recent Nintendo Direct, I had a chance to download the demo for Dragon Quest Builders and I wanted to give my first impressions of the game. All of this is based on my experience the demo with little knowledge of the franchise so this is a clean slate in terms of how the game is.

Dragon Quest Builders feels very much like a combination of Minecraft with Animal Crossing and Stardew Valley elements placed in a fantasy setting. The main goal during the demo is to rebuild the once proud city of Cantlin that used to be on the island. With your power of “creation”, you are able to build and craft items out of raw materials. As time goes on, you will bring in villagers who wish to live in your city. They will give you quests which can help expand your city even further and thus creating the cycle of quests, leveling up, and ultimately build your city.

At face value, the game seems very much like a Minecraft game sprinkled with dragon quest skinning and elements. However, the game is very light and yet, addicting in that compared to Minecraft and Stardew Valley, the game does offer incentives to build and expand your base through quests. Much of the building mechanics are simple: find the right materials and the right amount of them and then the item can be crafted. People who enjoy this light style of gameplay of creation and city building will be very excited with this game. I remember playing this game until 2 AM just trying to complete the demo (which isn’t that difficult) but I got really side tracked with symmetry and aesthetic when it came to how my base was looking. That is where I can see gamers of that variety can enjoy the game the most.

That’s it for this post. Have you guys tried the game? Is it fun? Something you are going to buy? I might get it but it really has to get me into the mood to play that sort of game so I don’t know if it would be worth it for myself. But I do see the appeal. Let me know what you guys think. Thanks for checking out my post and have an awesome day!

All images are taken from Google Images

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62702.02
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75