This War of Mine broke a Father's Promise - Review & Sale

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

Imgur

Overview & Summary


This game title isn't your typical video game where you grind endless hours to achieve a goal of unlocking abilities or the highest level, instead it's about surviving against the effects of modern warfare raining shellfire in the city you reside in. You play as a group of war-torn civilians who are experiencing catastrophes such as civil collapse, shelling of schools, bandits who want to kill you for your invaluable supplies and the effects of long winter days. You're in danger all the time in this game and the aspect of struggling to deal day by day without the proper medicine or food really draws an atmospheric environment whilst you play This War of Mine.

You can experience game play in either a Sand Box mode where you create custom characters, choose the playable map and other change other elements that will determine your chances of survival. There's also two expandable stories in purchased DLC that give you insight of what war is like from an entirely different angle.

Reviews



The reviews provided by Steam on This War of Mine are "overwhelmingly positive" with nearly 30k upvotes. This War of Mine was released on the 14th of November, 2014 by 11 bit Studios and is still frequently updated to this day.

This War of Mine is a gripping survival sim, and a great study of survival during wartime and civil collapse.”

8.4 – IGN UK

This War of Mine has also received the independent game of the year award, it was featured in Time in 2014 and SXSW game award winner in 2015.

Buy it now!

You can save 80% on Steam now by buying This War of Mine for $3.99 with USD or Bitcoin.
Imgur


This War of Mine has broken a Father's Promise



Civil War, we didn't believe that it would break out but it was too late to run. The siege had happened, I had lost my beloved Barbara and now my daughter Amelia is all I have left.

"Hello? Can anyone hear me? My child is sick...

I need help. Someone please, answer me!"


Spoken over the radio by Adam, you can hear cracks in his voice as he begs for help

I gave Amelia a stuffed toy dog I found whilst scavenging for medicine, the smile on her face whilst she clutched the toy makes me more determined to get through this hell.
I promised her I would take care of her.


My name is Adam and I'm writing this because I have too.

I had a perfect family before the bombs starting raining down, unfortunately we didn't flee the city in time but we managed to get by even though the siege of riots and bandits spread throughout our neighborhood.

In spite of my effects my wife Barbara fell ill, I didn't have anything to give her and soon after I had to bury her, now my daughter Amelia is all I have. The toll of This War of Mine has had a big impact on Amelia, especially after her Mother's death she has just been withdrawn and won't speak to me, now she's just as ill as her Mother was.

Imgur

I remember my Brother leaving me a note that read that I was too proud to go live at his house and that I should think Amelia, he spoke about a humanitarian corridor and how children are prioritized, he kept saying this was our only chance of escape but I wasn't going anywhere.

It had been a day before my radio call for help was acknowledged, a man knocked on my door offering to barter some items. He recognized me and set out to go scavenge some medicine, I couldn't leave Amelia all alone so this was my only choice.

Imgur

The trader came the next day, once I heard that knock on the door I had never ran so fast. I didn't even check to see who it was first. As I opened the door the trader had the biggest smirk on his face, of course I had to pay a hefty price for that medicine and it cost me nearly all of my stockpile of wood and food.

Imgur

It had been four days of no sleep and tending care to Amelia, I must have blacked out of exhaustion because when I regained consciousness her bed was empty and Amelia was nowhere to be seen.
I sat in her bed with my head in my hands, pondering what could have happened. I immediately assumed my Brother took her, after all it was his plan to use her to get into the safe zone. I was so hungry, so tired and depressed but I'll rest when I'm dead, I was determined to find my little girl.

I went to my Brother's house but no one was found, all I found was a clue that they were heading to the pharmacy to stockpile on medicine. Of course I followed the trail and went there, but to no avail no one was there. I had no idea to where they would have went but I had two options, either towards the gas station or Amelia's school. I had to continue looking so I made my way to the gas station in hopes I'd find Amelia.

It had been five days since the beginning of the siege and here I was standing out front of a gas station where I use to buy my cigarettes. The most traumatizing moment was when I had seen my Brother's body laying on the floor in a pool on blood, we didn't get along very well but I never wished my dead and to make matters worse Amelia wasn't there.
I was on edge and had no idea what was going on, I was clutching onto the only weapon I had which was a kitchen knife, that's when I heard someone leaving the gas station, they were all hooded up and holding a crowbar but I had no control and before they could see me I had already slit their throat. I still can't really remember what happened that night at the gas station.


Imgur

11 days had gone by until I got a good lead on Amelia, I hadn't eaten in a while and I had hardly any water. I was so determined on finding Amelia and the only information I had was from an old hobo and me told me where to look but it wasn't before he demanded all of my food in return. Some how I'm at a toy shop where a doctor was being held captive by the soldiers, I did some untold things but all in all I saved that doctor from that soon to be execution. The doctor went to the humanitarian corridor and I followed, he said Amelia must have been among the refugees. My memory is so foggy, how I managed to function is beyond me.

I remembered

The buried memories of that night I lost Amelia flooded my conscious. She hadn't been kidnapped, I tried to save my little girl, but I failed and couldn't keep my promise. Unable to accept it, I lived in denial.. Until now.

Imgur

Dissociative amnesia is a memory disorder characterized by sudden retrograde memory loss and is caused by severe stress or trauma. Such as that of witnessing death of a loved one. The person suffering from it forgets the painful experience as if it never happened.


Interested in more game related reviews and articles?
Looking for quality crypto related posts?

Follow @Cheech-Oz & resteem this post



cheech

Sort:  

Hey @cheech-oz, Great article you have put together here, I played through the original "This War of Mine"a couple of years ago and i must say that for such a basic game in principal it provided quite a bit of challenge and entertainment. It definitely had a steep learning curb which at times was frustrating, but at the same time very rewarding once particular challenges were overcome. I haven't had a look at the game for quite some time though, i may have to get back into it and check out this episode. Again good work mate, keep it up.

It definitely is a complicated game at first but sure is worth it. It was so cheap on Steam and still is, pick up the dlc you won't regret it. Thanks for the reply

yeah i wasnt too sure how to play to begin with, i love strategy games but this was quite different. there is a considerable amount of management strategy required to maximize surviveability. the first time i went on a scavenging mission and saw someone else i freaked out so much, lol. will definitely look into the DLC for this one.

Yeah no problems mate, keep up the good work and i will be stopping in for a chat :) i like to interact with like minded people producing good content like this.

Awesome article dude, I think I'm gonna check this out.

Great storytelling here. I will be sure to check out. thanks for posting!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cheech from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Hey that was a very thorough review.
I really like the emotional connection.

Just love the overall approach

Join us for a daily chance of a steam game code by solving a little riddle:

https://steemit.com/@dailysteamcodes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60255.54
ETH 2640.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55