Retrogaming : Secret of Evermore - One of the best RPG ever made

in #gaming7 years ago

Some backstory

Summer 1996, my mom come back to the airport and it means me and my half brother is going to get a gift but this time, she doesn't have anything for me while my half bro got a pretty cool super nes game package : a new game + a book.

This look shiny and at the moment i saw the game, i know this is something awesome but too bad : it's not for me.

I looked again at the jacket and this giant crab seems to want to tell me something. My little poor kid heart bleed, again, my big brother get the cool things ... but not this times ! He launch the game, played 30 minutes and find it boring, my luck : he offer me the game + the gameguide.

51113_front.jpg

At this very moment, i knew this game will have a special place in my chest.

And i did not mistake, because years later and after replaying it on emulator, i still find that Secret of Evermore is one of the most coolest action rpg ever made. And i did play a tons of great RPG ! (Final fantasy, dragon quest, tales of, secret of mana, wild arms ... )

So why Secret of evermore is so awesome ?

=========================================================

Because of the story

The game begin in our time. Our hero just watch a movie (with his dogs ! lol) and his just try to catch a cat. He goes into a manor when they find a laboratory and well : shit happens. The boy and his dogs are transported in a complete different era and will have to live some great adventures to travel back home.

You will have among others to find your way in a violent prehistorical era, fight like a gladiator in Antiquity, defeat some giant Dragon at the medieval times and even fight bizarre robots in the futur. And this is just a tiny part of this long adventure.

Because of the gameplay

gfs_40377_2_14.jpg

Everyone love secret of mana. Good thing, because the gameplay is basically the same. You can fight with weapons, do magic (alchemy in the game), switch with the dogs who is extremely useful and gain level while farming.

Because of the bosses

55-image068.png

Secret of evermore has many bosses and few ones are quite challenging. I will never forget you Verminator ! (Salabog is also a big pain in the ass).

Because the soundtrack is amazing

and last

Because Secret of Evermore is a masterpiece

Even the dialogue are well writen and often hilarious. I search a bad things to say about this game but i can't. Maybe, there are some labyrinth phase who can piss you off, maybe some boss are a little too hard but i can't find anything else.

1347237566816.png

So if you never played Secret of Evermore and love retrogaming, give it a shot !
And don't hesitate to share in the comment your favorite retro RPG or your favorite retro game !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58431.17
ETH 2653.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44