Half-decent review of a half-forgotten game Half-Life

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)


I dare say it is a half-forgotten game, but is it not half-bad? All jokes aside, Half-Life is a really great FPS game which brings back a surge of awesome memories and a sense of nostalgia. I'm sure the G-Man would approve of this review!

Our main protagonist is Gordon Freeman who suddenly finds himself fighting aliens and government troops when a teleportation experiment accidently (or was it on purpose?) turns into chaos in the Black Mesa Research Facility. The whole story unveils in Gordon's eyes, who actually never speaks or appears in the game.



Half-Life does not have any cut-scenes. It is merely progressing forward with scripted events which come at you surprisingly. It does not have levels designed, instead you advance in chapters. The game does not only throw aliens at you - there are lots of puzzles involved and it may keep you busy when trying to figure out the surroundings and how to pass a certain obstacle.

What's also great in Half-Life is the AI. You will end up encountering facility officers who will offer their help in fighting the foe. Though they always end up dying in the process, it's still a very nice gesture! It's fair to say that Half-Life will keep you busy and your eyes wide open for the lurking enemies. From a crowbar to SMGs, there is a nice number of weapons in your disposal. You probably won't run out of ammunition, but the game does not throw it around everywhere - it'll be hidden somewhere or you will have to loot it from the foes.

Oh, and don't forget to keep an eye out for the G-Man! He certainly loves to monitor your journey.




Share your thoughts!


@cheaky


Sort:  

half-life was a really interesting game, and half-life 2 was even better. I think it played a huge role in ramping valve up to where they are today with steam. I know everyone wants half-life 3 but I think it's ok they have worked on other things because another FPS doesn't have nearly as much impact as what else they decided to do, but these games will always have a place in gaming history, their legacy is quite great :)

I definitely agree - Half Life 2 was even more amazing.
I think Half Life 3 is already forgotten by now.

I can still hear the sound of the MP5 with metallic echos bouncing back and forth. Also the radio chatter of the soldiers approaching you.

I must have played the demo 1000 times before getting the full game. Sweet memories.

I share the same memories! Just a quick glimpse and all of the memories come back instantly.

I have never played half life but I have always wanted to. how are the puzzles? are they challenging?

They are not really challenging, but the gameplay is fun. It's not that long so I recommend you play it.

ok cool I will have to check it out. is it only for pc?

PC and PS2 from what I found.

ok cool might have to get it for my ps2 then

I have half life 2 but never played it because I had not played 1

I bought Half Life within the few days the American version was available in German stores - before they replaced it with a version with robots replacing human enemies. It was a lucky buy, I had no idea what I signed up for. You can barely explain how mind blowing the gameplay was. Compare it to Duke Nukem and look how little time was between those. To me HL1 is still what I consider the first "modern" game I ever played.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69662.55
ETH 3388.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77