Cass attempts to play... Encounter on the Commodore 64

in #gaming7 years ago

Hi,

Here's a quick video in which I have a go at the impressive Encounter (by Novagen) on the C64:

encounter 1.png

Kind of a filled-in solid-3d version of the classic Atari arcade game Battlezone, this fairly early (1984) C64 shooter is a real stunner.

The programmer, Paul Woakes, dispelled the generally held myth that the C64 was unable to scale objects at speed to give a workable 3D environment. As you'll see, everything moves around at a fair lick (the inter-level hyperspace sections are particularly hairy!)

Paul Woakes went on in his next game, the excellent Mercenary (which I'll cover in a future video of course), to also dispel the idea that the C64 could not handle complicated 3D wireframe graphics at pace.

Truly an amazing programming talent!

As always in this video series, I didn't activate any cheat modes - I'm going to try to do these playthroughs without any artificial help...

Please feel free to leave suggestions in the comments for other games for me to play on the C64 (or indeed the Vic-20 or C16/Plus4)

Enjoy the video!

If you enjoyed this video, please let me know below and please check out my other vids on my blog (including complete playthroughs of the all time classic Bruce Lee by Datasoft, Impossible Mission by Epyx and the mighty Ghostbusters by Activision).

Cheers,

Cass

Sort:  

Upvoted and followed I love the C64, that is what got me addicted to gaming.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62264.03
ETH 2431.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50