Are Loot Boxes A Form Of Gambling?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gaming6 years ago

lootbox.jpg

Since around 2015 there is an international debate about the appearance of loot boxes in video games and if this loot boxes are some kind of gambling. Due to this some countries already made some consequences and regulations out of this problem. And in fact, loot boxes could probably be a big harm, as there are stories about people who are putting in horrendous amounts of money (several thousands USD and more) to get some items, losing control about themself.

I think there are already regulations in a lot of countries, starting from making the loot chances public for all items until full bans of these loot boxes or how it is called in the specific games. Now three Washington Senators asking the local gambling authority to make a decision for loot boxed if whether they are kind of gambling or not. (click here for more infos)

I myself see a big risk in loot boxes, as a lot of people lose control about this, putting in a lot of money. It does not have to be always thousands of Dollar, but still losing some hundreds are also hurting, so I avoid games with loot boxes. Anyways I think that it should be fine to pay for a game one time, enjoying all stuff for the price of a game, not putting in money all the time extra just to get the full enjoyment of it. Even for expension packs I am always thinking twice if I want to buy it or not.

So how does the Steemit community think about loot boxes? Should people be free to put their whole money into this, losing a fortune or should there be regulations?

Sort:  

that's what I like about Overwatch..u can't buy loot boxes, with cash that is, and u can't sell it too.. everything is earned and yours to keep.. correct me if I'm wrong

Thanks for your comment :) I haven't played Overwatch but I thought you are able to buy loot boxes, but good to know that you can't. I think that is still quite a good move for letting players play the game much more, as there are probably a lot of gamers who want to collect every item or at least a specific one, still they need to play the game a lot, but don't have to put in money extra for it. And in fact, it is nothing other to normal chests in some games then, which have random items in it.

yes and that's the beauty of overwatch..the loot boxes are all random..and the cash u get to buy skins etc are all virtual cash..cash u earn by just playing the game and going up the ranks..u can't like use real cash to buy that virtual cash..that's why I love Overwatch so much...play it dude you'll love it! 😀😀

Will definitely do so when I am back in Germany :D Currently in Japan, not having a PS4 here. :) But I already thought I should try it after I saw your comment above.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65133.17
ETH 3480.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52