Boldly Breaking the Backlog - Update #2 [Game dev]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gaming7 years ago

This week, I accomplished the big goal of making my game's performance much better (via crosswalk) . I have added a few things to the backlog though...

icon.png

Things I have learned

  • Privacy policies are not required for your app, but they give you bonus points in play store. You can get a free basic generated privacy policy from http://freeprivacypolicy.com/ by filling out some forms and google will host it for you for free! See mine here: https://sites.google.com/site/frostedfactoryprivacypolicy/ . It was really easy to just copy the generated HTML into a static google site and then link to it from the playstore. I'm happy this is done- I dislike legal BS.

  • Blogging is harder than I thought. I've been putting off writing this blog post for a while now. I need to find some sort of routine here.

  • Blogging is beneficial to document project progress. And it is also motivating for me to see that I'm actually making some sane progress. It is also helpful since I can tweet share a blog, which gives my projects a bit more exposure on various social medias. I currently have 0 steemer followers, but this blog is still helping in the other ways, and I'm sure that number will grow.

  • [Somewhat technical] Centering images on android and html5 sucks. I was having a terrible time getting stuff to display in the center of the android screen- everything was always way off in the corner. I had tried everything I could think of, all my google searches turned up links that were purple! I finally found the culprit was this line that I had included from some tutorial ages ago, which seems to no longer be required:

    <meta name="viewport" content="width=device-width, initial-scale=.5, maximum-scale=.5, user-scalable=no minimal-ui" />
    

I now realize that this viewport was confining the screen to .5 height/width, and only displaying the top left quadrant. I've removed it and now things are finally centering!

Accomplishments

  • Get crosswalk packaging working

  • Make sure my social media accounts are looking up to date

  • Make sure analytics is logging when the game shows ads.

  • Get the game description text for the game hammered out

  • Seeing if it's allowable in the play store and google/twitter to reward players for sharing the game on those platforms. It is not allowable- but adding a like button is OK. I'm pondering whether to do this or not...

Todos:

  • Setup the android store purchase for the game (it's a freemium game, with 1 purchase to unlock more levels)

  • Investigate getting a free trailer done.

  • Get better acquainted with the analytics I'm using

  • Get twitter and facebook group updated with the game description text and images

  • Enter all the details in the google play store for the dev account and frosted factory- I started this, but it's long.

  • Get a new android to test on, my old android tablet broke (it was 5 years+ old), I need to get a new one to test on.

  • Generate a bunch of levels for the game (I have a script that can do this- I just need to leave my computer for a few days to generate them)

  • Figure out good keywords for the play store.

equip.png

Last week's goals:

  • Make several social media posts, and NOT just advertising frosted factory. [Success!]

  • Acquire 5 new followers. [Failed, only acquired 2]

  • Knock off a few of the above todos. [Success!]

Next week's goals

  • Make several social media posts, and NOT just advertising frosted factory.

  • Acquire 3 new followers.

  • Knock off more todos!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63740.26
ETH 2618.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79