You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Favorite NES games - what are yours?

in #gaming5 years ago

I remember the commercials for Zelda as well. There was that crazy guy shouting things like Tektites! Leevers! It was so crazy and you had no clue what the game was about. I remember getting my NES, it was probably the single most awesome present I got as a kid. I had all but given up on getting one because my parents pointed out we had a computer to play games on. Then boom it was either my Birthday or Christmas, there it was. It was quite the surprise. My top three games would probably be. Final Fantasy, Zelda (though I never owned it) and Dragon Warrior I, II, and III. I used to get Nintendo Power Magazine and I got the free strategy guide for Final Fantasy before I had ever even played the game. I read through that thing a million times and then when I got the game I played it over and over and over again. Good memories!

Sort:  

wasn't nintendo power the best? If you got stuck in a game they would sometimes have 900 numbers or some crap before parents put an end to that because it became known that game designers were intentionally putting extremely cryptic points into the games to force an 8 year old to use the telephone without permission.

That Zelda commercial with the dude in the black turtleneck... you described it perfectly. ha! Some things just stick in your brain huh?

For sure! Nintendo Power was awesome for all of the tips and cheat codes and new games. I never owned a Game Genie, but most of the emulators these days have all of the codes loaded in for each game so you can turn that stuff on and off whenever you want. Plus emulators have Save States which are awesome for piss poor gamers like me :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66466.45
ETH 3595.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90