Crysis

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

This is a game I've been into ever since it came out in 2007. It's pretty legendary for being a benchmark, even today, but I love it for the times I've had with it.

The multiplayer was mindblowing for me when I got into it. Huge maps, so many vehicles, and nuke launchers! It was also very tricky, it's not easy to shoot players who are either invisible or flying across the room in speed mode. The multiplayer was full of adventures, I remember times when I'd go solo with a sniper and sneakily traverse the maps, sometimes not very successfully. I was always ecstatic when I managed a kill on my dinky desktop, which made it near impossible to hit anything with the fps I got. In some ways you could say the difficulty in getting the game to run at max settings helped contribute to this sense that you were getting to play something special.

As a sci-fi fan, the campaign is a treat. Granted, the plot isn't overly complex or deep, but you can still appreciate it for what it does successfully. It's campy, it welcomes you to a grounded world of nanosuits and gauss rifles , and it lets you chuck north koreans into the air. The beginning where you jump out of the plane and land on the island seamlessly, always took my breath away and got me hyped for the adventure that followed. The only complaint I have would be that the ending left me wanting so much more.

awyis.png

If you want to really test your mettle, try to get to the very top of the carrier on the Armada map in multiplayer. It's not easy!

Personally, I was disappointed by Crysis 2 and 3. They were good games, don't get me wrong, but I don't think they were worthy sequels to the first. I wanted games where you could ascend all the skyscrapers, clear aliens from each one, and then freely fly around Manhattan inside a VTOL, something that truly managed to one-up the original. Computers just didn't explode the right way.

Thanks for reading, I'd love to hear other people's stories and thoughts!

Sort:  

My roommate got this game when it first came out. Had a pretty advanced graphics card (at the time) and we were all blown away by the graphics. Never played it myself, just watched a lot. How did you like it compared to Far Cry?

Far Cry is really similar but whereas Crysis has a campiness level of like 5-6, Far Cry turns it up to 11. It can be seen as a classic, so naturally it is a bit more basic in terms of mechanics(good for its time though), but that works well with the crazy camp. It's a very entertaining game, and it's interesting to think where it would be if Crytek were the ones still making it instead of Ubisoft.

This game still has better graphics than more recent games.

The player has more liberty in the first game. It's not really an open world, because you have to go from a point to another, but you can choose your path. You can follow the road, you can go through the vegetation, you can swim underwater. You can walk, swim or use a vehicle. You can strike frontaly, or act like a modern ninja in a nanosuit...

This game can be played as a shooter as well an infiltration game... This game has a great replay value !

I am looking to get into fpss as i hear they are quite fun and entertaining i mainly come from a minesweeper and general massively multiplayer online game (have you heard of them you should try it out) background and wonder if my skills would would be transferable as i heard there's a lot of clicking involved. i also heard of this game called "half life" but it sounds dangerous what level are you?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65826.04
ETH 3521.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49