Giovanni encountered and defeated. Shadow Zapdos encounter

in #gaming4 years ago

thumbnail.jpg

As I mentioned in an earlier post in December after defeating Cliff I could now go and look for Giovanni. Always encountering a Decoy Grunt instead of Giovanni. Then one day I was on my way back home and some people wanted to do a Legendary Raid at the train station. So I decided to go there and try to join. This moment happened last month, I just didn't post it yet as I posted other things and was sometimes a bit busy.

One of the people I often walk around with playing Pokémon GO after we take over the Houten Schip Gym was also looking for Giovanni. And he let me know that Giovanni was at the Pokéstop of the train station. Since I launched my game after arriving I didn't pass by that Pokéstop with the game open, so I didn't end up seeing it yet. So I decided to go check it out afterwards then.

Here is the encounter with Giovanni.

Giovanni encounter.jpg

Because Giovanni was going to have Persian, obviously, and then a Ground-type Pokémon and Zapdos I decided to definitely take my Lucario with me. As it can break down the shields fast with Power-Up Punch, and increasing its attack. I also decided to take Mamoswine with me though because it can also deal a fair amount of damage and has a chance to increase its attack and defense a bit after using Ancient Power and it's a good move against Zapdos.

Unfortunately the Mamoswine didn't trigger that stat increase a single time for me this fight, but I still managed to win against Giovanni with only 1 Pokémon fainted. As you can see in the victory screen up next:

Giovanni defeated.jpg

Since this was still in December, he had Shadow Zapdos and that means I would get a Shadow Zapdos encounter to try and capture. The capture itself went smoothly.

Shadow Zapdos.jpg

Stat wise this Zapdos is not good at all, having 1 attack, 15 defense and 2 HP for its IVs. Purifying this one would bring it to 3 attack, 15 defense and 4 HP. If lucky the attack or HP could go up by 3 instead of 2, but that still wouldn't make it a good attacker. So until now I still haven't purified it.

After that I was able to turn in the last step, and then start the quest that we can start in December. Because I didn't manage to complete my November quest in November. Which caused me to miss out on Articuno. If I finish the new quest, by defeating all 3 Rocket Leaders again and then defeating Giovanni, I will be able to get Shadow Moltres. And then I can start the quest from January which I would ideally finish in February then if all goes well. I do wonder if we'll see Shadow Articuno again in February, meaning that they rotate, or that we will see a different Legendary.

Have you fought Giovanni already?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62