A Colossal Discovery - Regigigas now in Pokémon GO

in #gaming5 years ago

thumbnail.jpg

This weekend on Saturday there was a global special event called A Colossal Discovery. It featured the Colossal Pokémon, Regigigas. The event took place from 11 am through 7 pm local time that day and you could participate from anywhere in the world. To access the event, you'd have to purchase a special event ticket though. Upon purchasing the event ticket, you receive a special badge named the same as the event to show under your medals that you've participated in it.

With Regirock, Regice and Registeel being back in Raids for a few days before and after the event, they have added Shiny Regirock, Shiny Regice and Shiny Registeel in the game.

A Colossal Discovery badge and ticket.jpg

Purchasing the event pass unlocked the Special Research questline A Colossal Discovery. This is a Special Research quest that rewards Regigigas at the end of it. Trainers, don't fear though if you missed out on the event itself, because Regigigas will make its way into EX-Raids later in November and likely stay in there for several months.

During the quest several other Pokémon could be encountered as rewards from the quest, as well as obtaining a Sinnoh Stone and an Unova Stone. A special Pose for your character, visible on your own page, for your friends when they click on you, during Raid lobbies.

Other than that it was also possible to obtain up to 10 additional Raid Passes from spinning Gyms' Photodiscs throughout the event. Which excluded the daily free Raid Pass, so it was possible to do 11 raids in total with those passes throughout the event.

The first step focused on catching and evolving Rock-type Pokémon, the second step required Ice-type Pokémon and the third step featured Steel-Type Pokémon. All steps also required catching either Regirock, Regice or Registeel, so it was important to make sure you did one of those Raids during every step.

A lot of people were playing in my city. We often had to split in two groups for the Raids we were doing due to the amount of people. It was really easy to finds Raids, as the Raid Eggs on top of the Gyms often didn't take long to hatch, and sometimes a Raid Boss would just appear on a Gym without even having a Raid Egg prior to showing up.

The final part of the quest required taking snapshots of Regirock, Regice and Registeel. Once I did that I could complete it and get to the Regigigas encounter. Which can be seen here. Now I have Regigigas registered in the Pokédex!

Regigigas encounter and capture.jpg

Its stats were not particularly good, so I traded it afterwards to see if we could get lucky and get a Lucky Regigigas straight away. Unfortunately it didn't, and it became way worse stats wise. But I don't mind because it will be available through EX-Raids later this month, so I can just try to get a better one then!

Here are the AR pictures I took of Regirock, Regice and Registeel as part of the final step in the quest. I wanted to make it seem like they all walked out of the playground through that gate. After catching Regigigas there I also took an AR picture of it there, as that made the most sense!

AR pictures of the Regi trio and Regigigas.jpg

The event itself was pretty cool. I kinda dislike the fact it was locked behind a paywall for having to purchase the ticket to the event, but they did give us more value in Raid Passes than the price of the ticket was. So it was definitely still worth it when it comes to purchasing Raid Passes! :D A lot of people also played during the event, it was really great seeing so many people around and doing Raids with them. I played for just over 6 hours that day, so it was also worth it when looking at the time spent playing. A lot of people I was playing with also played for a long time, sometimes some went for a short break and returned to join us later.

I did only did 11 Raids though, so using my daily Raid Pass and the 10 Raid Passes that I received as part of the A Colossal Discovery event ticket.

Did you participate in this event?

Sort:  

I did kind of play in the event, although I actually didn't!

I didn't want to shell out the 8 bucks and I wasn't sure if there would be many players out to even make it possible to defeat the Regies for the quests leading up to the "colossal discovery".

I just randomly noticed a bunch of people playing and so I ended up using a bunch of premium raid passes to join the raids for Regies. Turned out great - two shinies!!!

And I already have an EX invite for next week... that might just be the Regigigas that i missed out on for not paying on Saturday.

You can see some epic pics of my shiny Regies on @actifraenk's latest actifit report ;)

Yeah I kinda felt the same, but then in the morning I saw in our group chat that a lot of people purchased an event ticket. So I decided I'd buy one too as I knew we'd have a lot of people playing.

Oh wow that turned out great indeed!

Nice! I'm personally hoping it'll still be Mewtwo next week as I'm trying to get an excellent IV one with Shadow Ball. We'll have to wait until then to see if it's already Regigigas or if it'll show up later in the month. Do you frequently get an EX-Raid invite?

Oh I'll be sure to check that out! :D

I've only been in one EX raid before, and that Mewtwo bailed on me... ugh!

Since I've started playing only two months ago I can't really say much about frequency, so far it's only my 2nd invite! About one per month, does that qualify as "frequently"? I don't know.

Oh no! I hope you can still do a Mewtwo EX-Raid before Regigigas goes in it and capture it then!

Well it depends on how often the Gym sends out EX-Raid invites too. Getting your 2nd invite with having started playing two months ago definitely seems nice!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63643.10
ETH 2582.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75