A different game review: Middle-earth: Shadow of War

in #gaming6 years ago

20180529232141_1.jpg

This is a tale of love, betrayal and pain.

I'm not sure how much of these is involved, but at least we can have a distant admiration which we might confuse with love. Sometimes I'm assuming none of us truly know what love is. This is why we have so many songs asking if this is love or what is love.

I recently bought three things: GTX 970 from my friend, Shadow of War from Steam and a house.

My wife didn't appreciate me buying any PC hardware as well, we bought a house and we are basically poor now. But buying last generation GPUs is not really something which drives us to a financial crisis.

Shadow of War was on discount. I really liked the previous game, Shadow of Mordor, but Shadow of War had got some bad user reviews due to micropayments implemented in the game and I decided not to buy the game in a hurry. Now the micropayments have been removed and I finally could buy the game (50% off!)

This was love on the first sight. The game felt right from the first minutes of gameplay and as I managed to get forward in the game, I unlocked more old and new awesome skills. The game is not about the story, but I'm usually just having fun with the game mechanics.

Trying to kill a captain only by sneak attacks? Done.
Running through a camp and stabbing random orcs to death for fun? Done.
HOLY SHIT YOU CAN THROW A HAMMER IN THIS GAME!
Killing an orc patrol by tossing everyone off a ledge? Done!

But back to the game.

For some reason, Sauron doesn't like me. I've been trying to build up the pieces to figure out the reason, but this is all I've come up with so far:
20180529223259_1.jpg
No actual Saurons were hurt to make this image, it was only a statue.

However it might also be due to the fact I actually was killing orcs by tossing them down.

20180529215633_1.jpg

As you can see, one of my favorite tools in the game is the "photo editing" tool. I can stop the game and add filters, add different kinds of images and have special effects added on the images.

This is awesome.

The game truly made me become the artist I've always wanted to be, but haven't managed to be on Instagram.

20180529215614_1.jpg

However, to continue with the story. Sauron doesn't like me. It might be the fact I'm destroying his statues OR that I'm killing orcs serving under him.

Maybe it's both.

I have found the special image of Sauron watching me kill his orcs, but I'm not sure if it's a good or bad thing. Maybe this is like Big Brother to him. "Phew, didn't like that dude anyway. Luckily he was... dropped off"

20180529215626_1.jpg

The downside is that I managed to finish the game and kill Sauron in less than 5 hours of gameplay.

20180529220125_1.jpg

But in the end, the game is super fun to play. The only thing I'm having issues with is the fact it's a bit difficult to control the acrobatics I'm doing, sometimes Talion is leaping to all wrong directions and on other hand, is not able to jump over a barrel on the ground.

Compared to the fact he's making at least 5 meter leaps straight upwards.

Battles are fun, challenging enough when I'm playing on a bit harder difficulty, so I'm getting the actual pleasure of winning a difficult fight.

I'm looking forward to all the content coming on later stages of the story, as I'm still on Act I and can't even mind control orcs, but I'm having so much fun already. Taking slow steps forward will give me a lot of time to enjoy the game.

I'm sure this will be one of the games I'll spend 100+ hours on. Which is not good, as I should be outdoors, sleeping, working, spending time with my family etc.

But it's fine. I don't need a family and hobbies, as I have this game.

20180529215813_1.jpg
I can also make Talion look at the camera in the image. This clearly states Talion has my back. You go girl!

Sort:  

Your posts always give me a good laugh. Thank you.

I bought a GTX 1070 and that same game. I've tried it two times but I never get past the first parts of the game :D I guess I'm too bad so I wont even try

Aww, what parts can't you get through? The very first quests are a bit dull, but have you tried with an easier difficulty? :)

I think I did try it with easier difficulty. I will probably have to try it again once I get more free time

You should stream it and I could give you tips while watching you play.

"NOOOO DON'T DO THAT YOU IDIOT NOOOO!"

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 22 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 19 SBD worth and should receive 72 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71295.78
ETH 3844.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.42