My video game consoles collection, a retrospective of my story with video games.

in #gaming6 years ago
«Look behind you!, a three-headed monkey!»
Guybrush Threepwood, The Secret Of Monkey Island

Hello Steemians, today I wanted to give a variation to the subject that I usually deal with, remember that from the beginning I said that I would use this blog, to talk about my interests in general, well; One of them is video game consoles, the strange thing is that I'm not particularly fanatic of video games, at least not today, yes, I had moments in which I spent a lot of time with them, but with the time, for work and other obligations, they were losing interest for me, however and oddly enough, I am fanatic of collecting consoles and retro video games, now my collection includes about 30 consoles, the number of games if it is not very significant, Well, as I say, they are not my main interest.

So today I wanted to present my collection of consoles, in later posts, I will dedicate a little time to some of them, but today I just want you to know my collection in general, here I present them.

IMGP1492.JPG

A global view of the collection

IMGP1494.JPG

The oldest, above Coleco and Intelevision, after the collection of Atari

IMGP1496.JPG

Collection of Nintendo, Turbografx and Noe Geo

IMGP1498.JPG

Collection of Sega, Panasonic 3DO, Play Station and XBox

As I do not have space, nor where to display the games, I have them stored, next to the accessories of the consoles, in plastic containers, I show them a little:

IMGP1506.JPG

Here you can see the containers, by the way, in the background the three consoles that I have in use, when I can use them, which is not very often

IMGP1509.JPG

Some accessories, I have them classified by console, in identified ziploc bags

IMGP1510.JPG

In this photo you can see some of the games, and other accessories, I promise to show everything in more detail after

But, why my interest in collecting consoles? If I have no particular interest in the games, I really do have interest, but for the day to day, I have run out of time to use them, so I left it waiting, of the moment where I can spend time doing nothing; to be able to do something with them.

My interest in consoles comes from my childhood, from a very young age, I started to stay alone in the evenings at home, and unlike Macaulay Culkin, I did not watch old movies, buy clothes softener and torture small-time pickpockets, I changed my company was the anime shoot from 4 to 6 pm, and my first console, an Atari 2600, usually when my mom went to work, I did the homework and then spent the rest of the afternoon playing with the Atari , clear until the transformer got too hot and should let it rest for a while, and so, between: River Raid, Asteroids, Pitfall and the occasional blown cartridges, raffled the insufferable series of soap operas that went from 1 to 4 pm .

When I started high school, the boom of the consoles of the 80 had decayed, ET had come to send everything to the devil (well this is partly a myth, but I like to blame the extraterrestrial), and his rebirth of the hand of Nintendo and Sega, for economic reasons, did not reach my home, after the Atari 2600 I did not have a console until I got to the university.

What happened to that Atari, I have no idea, it was not really just one, it was two and to tell the truth I do not know what happened to any of them, I know there were several changes of transformer and controls and several visits to the workshop, but not I know what was his final destination, I only remember that by the time he was in my third year of high school, I did not have any console.

My return to the world of video games came with the computer, I was in the third semester in college when, through a friend, came to my hands, Mortal Kombat and so came the MKII, 3, etc., then I met the graphics adventures and I became passionate with them, although many were old by then, Monkey Island, Indiana Jones, Shadow of the Comet, Veil of Darkness among others, I spent a good part of my free time trying to decipher puzzles and find objects hidden that will help me advance in the plot of a game.

For my last semesters at the university, I acquired a Play Station, thanks to a preparaduria(*); Yes, for those students from my country who read this and who today have a preparaduria, at that time the preparaduria was enough to buy a console, motivated by a growing interest in playing Final Fantasy VII, which I had read in magazines and had tried to played it in an emulator, but did not work on my computer.

I had never spent so much time in a game, like the one dedicated to Final Fantasy VII, they were in total about 300 hours, of course not continuous, the game seemed really attractive and with an impressive plot, apart from some very entertaining subgames, the Chocobo races are unforgettable.

After Final Fantasy VII, came the FFVIII, also with a superb plot, but for me, a little less attractive than the previous one, however, I also dedicated his good hours of play. After that FFIX, I did not get caught, I did not like the design of the characters and the plot became heavy, so the charm was lost.

By that time, I had graduated from university and worked, they were more economically comfortable, my wife and I had little time to get married and we were in a period of relative bonanza, for those of us who dedicate our lives to university, Those who do not know yet, I'm a university professor, so perhaps in a premature and strange crisis of middle age, I started to buy how much old console I longed for and wished in my childhood and adolescence, I was fulfilling my dreams of unfulfilled children.

So I came to buy everything I found at my disposal at that time, from my longed for Atari 2600, to the very expensive SNK Neo Geo, although my collection lacks the most retro like the Vectrex, the Magnavox Odyssey and classic Atari Pong and some less old rarities, but just as interesting as the Pippin the only console made by Apple and a blunt failure, I think I have gathered a good sample of representative specimens of the history of home video games.

Today, because of the limitations we live in my country, I am a little behind in my collection, I still need the last generation, besides being drooling for the coming Atari VSC, but without much hope of acquiring it.

Well with that I conclude the story about my collection of video game consoles, I hope it has been to your liking, soon I will show you some of them, giving some technical, historical and anecdotal details about it. If you liked the post, well wait to vote and do resteem. Until next time and thanks for your attention.

Text and photography by @amart29, Barcelona, Venezuela, June 2018


separador.jpg

(*) In Venezuela, a preparaduria is a kind of tutoring that advanced students dictate to other students, for that they receive a payment, currently that payment is less than one American dollar per month.


separador.jpg

tarjeta ingles.jpg


separador.jpg

You would like a weekly income in cryptocurrency only to be part of a community, join manna and contribute to achieve it for yourself and all participants, your support will help many people to get a basic weekly income, you just have to click on the image to participate.

manna-banner.jpg

Or you can also click here.

Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Your post was sent to the Promoted section of Steemit for FREE.
Thanks for participating in our Giveaway !

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by amart29 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

love this english version! very good console collection you got there #steemfamilyhi #topfive

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66902.20
ETH 3248.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64