You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why we need to support physical media

in #gaming7 years ago

Ten years ago I was pro convenience. With the ability to have thousands of songs in my iPod I always thought this should happen everywhere, it's more practical. I bought an R4 for my DS Lite and got the roms for all the games I owned and a lot that I never bought. Then I found out I didn't care fore the pirated ones: If I illegally downloaded something was mostly for testing, both I usually never spent more than 2 hours on it.

Being able to carry as many DS titles with me made me realize that with so much options I with me I was playing less and less.

More recently I started buying and collecting vinyl records. Then it struck me: Having to stand up, put the record on, place the needle (here we say needle contrary to "stylus". Not a hipster thing) is an effort that made me appreciate more the music I was playing. Then after some 20-30 minutes I had to get up again and flip the disc. That's when I realized what in 2006-2008 I first experienced with roms in the R4.

I don't own a kindle anymore. For the times that I had (all three I've had are now with former girlfriends) I never had more than 1 title on it: The one I was interested on reading. I saw (nor see now) reason to have 1000 titles with me, unless it's a references book.

Physical media also means investment: You can gift or resale your music, games or books, but it becomes tricky with iTunes purchases or Nintendo digital games. You could do a yard sale and get some money, exchange them, put them on eBay, but couldn't do so with digital media, that's the investment part. Maybe it will be worth a lot in 20 years, who knows.

Physical media also means support: Here in Venezuela the music industry doesn't work as in the US. Independent artists (most nowadays) put a lot from their pockets to record and produce their music. When they sell that in venues, concerts, stores, that money goes back go them not only as a return of their investment but as profit. And I really like them to profit from their work as I profit from mine. And I really like the idea of they getting the money to pay for their loans instead making the middleman (record company in this case) richer.

Sort:  

Excellent points. You raise an interesting point about the act of playing a record. It does make you more connected to the media. It becomes more of an experience than just making a few clicks on a device or computer.

Video games are the same way, where no emulator can capture the feeling of plugging a real cartridge into a game console.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64008.01
ETH 3308.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93