[VR Review] The Only Good Virtual Boy Games, Part 7: Mario's Tennis

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)


source

You read that correctly. The now illustrious Mario Tennis series began on the Virtual Boy. It's as shocking to many people as learning that the Aliens vs. Predator fps series began on the Atari Jaguar. Mario's Tennis is also now simply "Mario Tennis" and I'm sure nobody would like to forget the Virtual Boy edition more than Nintendo, so perhaps the change signifies an attempt to break with the past.


source

Mario's Tennis was actually the pack-in game for the Virtual Boy. It makes sense. The mode 7 field and the way depth perception adds to a game like tennis does a lot to sell the concept of the Virtual Boy. But a sports game? As a pack in? Really? No Mario? No Tetris?


source

It's solidly made though, and plenty of fun. I can't really fault it except that it's not what most people wanted out of a pack-in title. It was one of the scant few Virtual Boy games to support link cable play as well, though the necessary cable was never actually released.

I give Mario's Tennis a 7/10. This isn't indicative of the quality or polish so much as the simplicity and non-sequitorial inclusion as a Virtual Boy pack-in title. It's well made, but it's just tennis. Many VB games had this problem, of being overly simplistic. Sort of like the first generation of modern VR games, come to think of it.


Stay Cozy!

Sort:  

The n64 version of this game is better.

The game soundtrack reminds me of the the old days playing Mario, it's not so advanced, but what do I know, it's adorable game to play

I don't know what its called, the law of nature or coincidence, my brother was playing mario yesterday on his phone, it was weird, when people start mentioning something over and over again, it starts manifesting.
Mario, mario, mario.

I never heard about this game, but as everything related to Mario i tend to love it, altough Tennis is not my favorite sport. I love Super mario World 1 and 2 for SNES and i have them :)

i never played mario tennis 😥😥😥thanks for sharing

Such a amazing gaming video . This is old games . But it's a enjoyble . Thanks for sharing @alexbeyman

I've seen you play and review these old games. Do you still play the new ones?

Sure, often. But I have a soft spot for these old ones.

Amazing to relive the experience of retro games.

Amazing to relive the experience of retro games.

Yes it reminds me of old Mario. Those were the times man, real good tims

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60189.57
ETH 3204.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44