Pushing the Nintendo Gamecube to its Absolute Limit!

in #gaming7 years ago


source

Gamecube has a lot of fond memories attached to it. It was the last classically Nintendo-ish Nintendo console. Different, strange, unapologetic, but tightly focused on doing its singular job as well as possible.

I can't prove it but suspect Shigeru Miyamoto is responsible for Nintendo's 5th gen console being a purple lunchbox. Something like that would've really tickled him, I'm sure. It hurt the public's percpetion of the machine however, given that Nintendo was already associated with children's entertainment.

I nevertheless camped out for it, waking up cold and achy at 7am on November 18th, 2001 outside of a Toys R Us. It was serious business! As a helpless Nintendo fanboy there was no way I'd miss the successor to the phenomenal N64.

There must be a great many out there who also have fond memories of Nintendo's little purple cube, because they're still coding for it. 'Intrinsic Gravity' by Still shows that there's still life in the Gamecube, and spirit left in its programming community:

While Intrinsic Gravity is artful, it doesn't make much use of the Gamecube's 3D capabilities. 'The Scary Demo' by CRTC rectifies this, throwing around smooth, detailed 3D visuals which still seem halfway relevant even in the modern era:

Not all demonstrations of the Gamecube's graphical prowess were made after its death. Some were made before it came to market, to give the press some idea of what it would be able to do and how big a leap it was beyond N64:

But what about the games? Of course we have to look at which games were considered the greatest graphical triumphs during the Gamecube's lifespan. The first of which has to be Star Wars, Rogue Squadron 3: Rebel Strike:

Star Fox Adventures was made by Rare, beginning life as Dinosaur Planet for the N64. Just like all other classic Rare titles, Star Fox Adventures was graphically remarkable for the system, because of its fur shading on certain characters in particular:

Metroid Prime is another famously gorgeous Gamecube game. Retro Studios has some seriously talented level designers with an eye for detail. Every individual room in Metroid Prime looked like it had more polygons than every structure found in a typical Halo level, put together:

Why is Luigi's Mansion on this list? It was a launch title after all, and there was nothing particularly special about the models or environments. It's here because it used stencil shadows and bump mapping. That's right, just like Doom 3.

The stencil shadows are visible whenever there's a lightning flash or when cast from objects before Luigi's flashlight, and move around dynamically in relation to the light source. The bump mapping is found only one place in the game, a brick texture on the side of a staircase in the basement:

Resident Evil 4 is a no brainer for its beautifully, artistically detailed levels. Every branch of those trees is modeled! Leon's coat has a fur shaded collar! This game was actually built from the ground up for Gamecube, and it shows:

Just like how Breath of the Wild got a WiiU release so WiiU owners wouldn't feel betrayed by the project moving to Switch, Twilight Princess also got a release on Gamecube for the same reason. Zelda titles have a history of straddling console generations like this. The result is a Gamecube game with graphics that look like they would be at home on the Wii:

That's all for this time. Did you have a Gamecube? Have you ever waited in line for any console? If you didn't have a Gamecube back then, what did you think of it? Stay tuned for further issues!


...and Stay Cozy!

Sort:  

Gamecube really was magical, such a weird collection of gems. I bought mine primarily for the Resident Evil remake, which was phenomenal, but man that console paid off. Surprised you didn't mention Wind Waker or REmake.
The 3d demos aren't as impressive to me this time compared to many others in this series, but I really like the first 2d one for some reason. So smooth.

Great write-up on a console ahead of its time.

There is a game called Eternal Darkness: Sanity's Requiem which I spent entirely too much time on that remains exclusive to the Gamecube. Amazing storyline spanning multiple characters and timelines in a battle against ancient gods, but what was most ground-breaking about the title to me were the insanity effects.

These could manifest themselves in various ways, such as your character becoming super tiny when entering a new room, everything going upside down, or your console appearing to delete all save files. Yes, it broke the fourth wall as well as display numerous other innovative techniques.

I've played this title again on PC via emulator, but it somehow just wasn't the same. Probably me getting too old and crusty.

I have never played any game in nintendo gamecube but i never know about that i can play these games in nintendo.
This is such absolute limit.

"This is such absolute limit."
Who could have said it better?

I have played Mario a lot on my game cube. 😁

Quite a nice video game to look into..I'm all time excited about what you been created and insight over games that I never thought on before, now I can tell much about such entertainments, (Games). Good job, my boss

Mine was PS 1 and gameboy. My mother would spank me for spending all day playing games.
I loved Nintendo too while growing up. And i enjoyed playing residential evil. The graphics was super cool

Really...!! I was a big Fan on Nintendo too... I remember the day when I got the cassette player... and we (Brothers and Sisters) started multiplying for the first time... :)

Then we upgraded and upgraded continuously these electronics until we had to leave playing games because of the studies burdens... :/

I still miss those days... :*

I played the Legend of Zelda night and day

The gamecube was and still is one of the greatest consoles Nintendo has ever released. The countless hours I played Mario Kart Double Dash as a teenager still blows my mind today!

Seriously? Flagging is that easy for ya?

I agree with @alexbeyman. a good community is building and developing content, rather than "vote" and "like". if not, then this community will become meaningless seriously and real.

It's standard practice for "Upvote for upvote" posts on here. I used to be more lenient but was rebuked for not helping to keep the community free of stuff like that.

I get it, but what did you downvote me for? Maybe it's steemit glitching, but clearly I was in support of your reply to that person begging for an upvote and then I got zapped for that. Left me confused to be honest.

I downvoted you? I only see the downvote I applied to sivasankartech.

It could be steemit f'n things up again. I don't know man, here's what I see (my comment is hidden because it's flagged)
Untitled20171112205922.jpg

is what it looks like at the very bottom.
and now I'm getting "TypeError: Network request failed" trying to reply to you. Grrr. I'm convinced it's steemit, you have great content I enjoy reading, so no harm done! Don't wanna miss another one of your posts on my favorite retro gaming systems! Peace.

lol this made my day

edit: Wow my wife died laughing after I showed this to her haha Can I borrow this for my own recreational use!?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 56386.16
ETH 2529.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49